Re-writing Nuclear Physics textbooks: 30 years of radioactive ion beam physics

Aula Magna (Polo Didattico Fibonacci)

Aula Magna

Polo Didattico Fibonacci

Bldg E Largo Bruno Pontecorvo, 3 I-56127 Pisa Italy
Angela Bonaccorso (PI), Giovanni Casini (FI)


The scope of the activity is twofold. First we will celebrate 30 years since the first genuine work on radioactive ion beams (RIBs) used to study properties of atomic nuclei. Since then Low Energy Nuclear Physics research fed by experiments at various facilities all over the world has experienced a great revival supported by widespread theoretical efforts which have changed deeply our understanding of nuclei and their interactions.
The initiators of the field
Björn Jonson (Fundamental Physics, Chalmers University of Technology, Göteborg, Sweden)
Isao Tanihata (SPANEE and IRCNPC, Beihang University, Beijing, China and RCNP, Osaka University, Japan)
will be our special guests.
The second scope of the event is to attract and educate the best possible students introducing them to the wonders of Physics with RIBs. We shall try to convey to such students a view of the rich variety of on-going activities in the field, both experimental and theoretical such that the progresses we have made in the last 30 years can be developed further in the future.
The planned activities will be directed towards students who are in the process of deciding what graduate studies to specialize. In Italy this happens typically at the end of the 1st year of Master studies.
INFN will offer about thirty scholarships to participate in this program, to be granted to Italian students who during the present Academic Year will pass a Nuclear Physics class with top mark. Students from other countries will be accepted provided the selection in the country of origin will be made according to the standards described above.
Content of the activity: The activity will consist in twelve lectures. Each lecture will cover a topic contained in a standard Nuclear Physics textbook extended to show how our understanding has deeply changed due to the experience accumulated with RIB physics since 1985. In order to give the activity a fully international character, and because we aim at favouring the participation of really young students, the first half day we will propose some introductory lectures given in separated sessions in different languages: Italian, Chinese, English, French, Japanese, Spanish, Polish, Portuguese.
The last day we plan a visit to the INFN Legnaro National Laboratory where SPES, the Italian RIB's facility is under construction. Some specialized seminars will be provided for senior colleagues, providing a panorama on the most recent discoveries in the field of unstable nuclei which might be highlighted in teaching courses or that might be used for practical applications.
Original contributions will be invited for submission to the European Physical Journal A and the editorial board will be composed of Nicolas Alamanos (IRFU, CEA, Saclay, France), Carlos Bertulani (Texas A&M University, Commerce, Texas, USA), Angela Bracco (University of Milano, Italy) and David Brink (University of Oxford, UK).
  • Ahmed Tarek Abouelfadl Mohamed
  • Aila Gengelbach
  • Alberto Bravo de Arriba
  • alessandro giachino
  • Alessandro Grassi
  • Alessia Di Pietro
  • Alessia Scriminich
  • Alessio Sodini
  • Alex Gnech
  • alexandra lightfoot
  • Alexandre Obertelli
  • Alfonso Gijón
  • Alice Manna
  • Alvaro Tolosa Delgado
  • Anastasios ANASTASIADIS
  • Andrea Ferroni
  • Andrea Horvat
  • Andrea Jungclaus
  • Andrei Andreyev
  • Angela Bonaccorso
  • Angela Bracco
  • Angela Gargano
  • Antonio Maria Buccola
  • Antonio Moro
  • Atsumi Saito
  • Baohua Sun
  • Ben Esse
  • Berta Rubio
  • Björn Jonson
  • Brunilde Gnoffo
  • Carlos Bertulani
  • Carlotta Porzio
  • Caroline Descouvemont
  • Catalin Frosin
  • Caterina Ciampi
  • Chenlei Guo
  • Christiaan Douma
  • Clelia Raso
  • Daniele Dell'Aquila
  • David Brink
  • David Luis Pérez Magán
  • Davide Decataldo
  • Dolores Cortina
  • Domenico Logoteta
  • Débora Peres Menezes
  • Elena Santopinto
  • Enrico Martello
  • Fabia Schindler
  • Fabrizio Alfonsi
  • Federica Defranchi Bisso
  • Federico Massa
  • Federico Pucci
  • Filippo Meli
  • Francesca Collu
  • Francesco Bonacci
  • Francesco Forti
  • Francesco Ghelfi
  • Francesco La Fauci
  • Francesco Niccoli
  • Francesco Pinotti
  • Gabriele Pasquali
  • Giacomo Signorini
  • Gianluca Colò
  • Gianluca Salvioni
  • Giorgio Porzio
  • Giovanna Benzoni
  • giovanni casini
  • Gregorio Carullo
  • Guido Fantini
  • Hao Zhang
  • Hongrui Huang
  • Hussam Badran
  • Ignazio Bombaci
  • ilker Can Celik
  • Isao Tanihata
  • Jagjit Singh
  • Joachim Tscheuschner
  • Jose Javier Valiente Dobon
  • Junki Tanaka
  • Laura Elisa Marcucci
  • Liuchun He
  • Lorenzo Cabona
  • Lorenzo Fortunato
  • Lorenzo Longo
  • Luca Marsicano
  • Luca Monaco
  • luca morelli
  • Luca Vialetto
  • Lucio Gialanella
  • Magdalena Kowalska
  • Manuel Medina
  • Marcello Miranda
  • Marco Gonelli
  • Margherita Di Santo
  • Martina Nicoletti
  • Matthew Keefe
  • Michele Viviani
  • Nancy Paul Hupin
  • Natalia BLIGOURA
  • Naz Shokrani
  • Nicola Andrea Dondi
  • Nicolas Alamanos
  • Nunzia Simona Martorana
  • Nunzio Itaco
  • Pierpaolo Ferrigno
  • Pierre Descouvemont
  • Pietro Ottanelli
  • pietro ricci
  • Quentin Wenda
  • Raúl Bombín Escudero
  • Riccardo Gonzo
  • Riccardo Mirabelli
  • Riccardo Raabe
  • Rituparna Kanungo
  • Robert Charity
  • Rubén Pampa Condori
  • Ruslan Magana Vsevolodovna
  • SalvatorE di Maggio
  • Salvatore Simone Perrotta
  • Sami Abdul-Razzak
  • Shi Wenxian
  • Silvia Auricchio
  • Simone Amaducci
  • Simone Velardita
  • Sofia Sarperi
  • Sonia Bacca
  • Stefan Typel
  • Stefano Mazzei
  • Stéphane Coudert
  • Stéphane Grévy
  • Thomas Aumann
  • Tohru Motobayashi
  • Tommaso Romolo Podestà
  • Tomohiro Uesaka
  • Tomoyuki Ozaki
  • Ulli Köster
  • Valentina Craveia
  • Valentina Dompè
  • Valeria D'Amante
  • Valeria Rosso
  • Víctor Vaquero Soto
  • Wenjia HUANG
  • Wenjian Lin
  • Ylenia Capitani
  • Yorick Blumenfeld