International Workshop on Ion Propulsion and Accelerator Industrial Application

CNR Nanotec, Bari, Italy

CNR Nanotec, Bari, Italy

Area di Ricerca CNR di Bari, via Amendola 122/D, 70126 Bari (Italy).
Francesco Taccogna (CNR-Nanotec-PLasMI), Marco Cavenago (LNL)
Ion Propulsion and accelerator industrial applications (IPAIA2017)
This workshop will provide a forum for the presentation and discussion on the progress in methods and technologies used for the research, development and industrial applications of ion propulsion (IP) for satellite and spacecraft. IP is a class of space propulsion which makes use of electrical power to ionize and accelerate a propellant by different possible electro-magnetic means. Due to the constant increase of electric power level available on-board, IP is currently considered as a key technology for the new generations of commercial/scientific satellites and space missions.
The meeting aims to present state-of-the-art research results discussing the different ion thruster configurations, from long-standing technologies to more recent advanced concepts.
Special emphasis will be given to possible IP applications to different technological fields such as energy (accelerator and ion sources for fusion) and material science (ion implantation, surface treatment, nanoparticle synthesis).
It will address the following main topics:
·       Modelling and simulation of IP.
·       Discussion and progress made on the different IP configurations.
·       Material science development for plasma-wall interaction in IP technology, and ion source physics
·       Possible applications of IP technology to different fields.
CNR-NANOTEC P.Las.M.I. lab, Bari, Italy ( in cooperation with INFN-LNL  will be host of the meeting. The venue of the meeting is the Area di Ricerca CNR di Bari, via Amendola 122/D, 70126 Bari (Italy),
Workshop plenary sessions were held on 2-3 March 2017, with registration and poster session opening on 1 March afternoon.

No registration fee is required.
For any questions, you can send an email to address:
To see program (click here) or go to tab Timetable.
To see the slides (most are uploaded, the remaining will be uploaded soon) and discussion minutes (in preparation) go to tab Timetable and scroll down. For some presentations, also shown movie representations of data are available (note the additional material icon  near the slide icon). For all presentations, also abstract is
available (note the more  icon  ).
International Scientific Advisory Committee
Eduardo Ahedo (UC3M, Madrid)
Vanni Antoni (CNR and Consorzio RFX, Padova)
Marco Cavenago (co-chair, INFN-LNL, Legnaro)
Rob Edgecock (STFC and Huddersfield University)
Stéphane Mazouffre (CNRS, Orleans)
Francesco Taccogna (co-chair, CNR Nanotec, Bari)
Vincenzo Variale (INFN-BA, Bari)

Local organizing committee
P. Minelli, CNR-Nanotec, Bari
N. Ippolito, INFN-BA, Bari
P. Veltri, INFN-LNL and RFX Padova

This workshop is co-sponsored by Eucard2 (EUCARD2 ‐ Enhanced European Coordination for Accelerator Research & Development ‐, co‐funded from the European Commission under the FP7 Research Infrastructures Grant Agreement no. 312453)

[Note: the workshop was preceeded by a meeting on ion source and plasma modelling, 28 February-1March, same venue (for information]

  • Aaron Knoll
  • Amnon Fruchtman
  • Andrea Lucca Fabris
  • Annarita Laricchiuta
  • Antoine Tavant
  • Antonio Gurciullo
  • Antonio Smoraldi
  • Antonio Taurisano
  • Daniele Pavarin
  • Domenico Bruno
  • Domenico Pomarico
  • Elio De Marinis
  • Emanuele Sartori
  • Enrico Chesta
  • Fabrizio Paganucci
  • Florian Marmuse
  • Francesco Battista
  • Francesco Micchetti
  • Francesco Taccogna
  • Gianpiero Colonna
  • Giuseppe Maria Coclite
  • Giuseppe Torrisi
  • Gwenael Fubiani
  • Igal Kronhaus
  • Igor Kaganovich
  • Iole Armenise
  • Jacek Kurzyna
  • Julia Duras
  • Julien Angot
  • Käthe Dannenmayer
  • Laurent Garrigues
  • Leduc Alexandre
  • Lucia Daniela Pietanza
  • Marco Cavenago
  • Maria Rutigliano
  • Mariano Andrenucci
  • Mario Merino
  • Mario Panelli
  • Massimo Ferrario
  • Miguel Pretelli
  • Nicola Ippolito
  • Olga De Pascale
  • Pierluigi Veltri
  • Pierpaolo Minelli
  • Romain Lucken
  • Stephane Mazouffre
  • TJ Petty
  • Tommaso Misuri
  • Vanni Antoni
  • Vincenzo Pulcino
  • Vincenzo Variale
  • Vivien Croes