8th International Workshop on Thin Films and New Ideas for Pushing the Limits of RF Superconductivity

Villi Room (INFN - Laboratori Nazionali di Legnaro)

Villi Room

INFN - Laboratori Nazionali di Legnaro

Viale dell'Università 2, Legnaro (Padova) - Italy
Anne-Marie Valente Feliciano (Jefferson Lab), Cristian Pira (LNL)


The 8th Workshop in this series will continue the goal of providing a Forum for new initiatives in innovative thin films and related technology to advance future generations of superconducting RF accelerators. Present superconducting RF accelerator technology is based on predominately bulk niobium, for which the state of the art in performance is reaching the theoretical limit. Thin film technology offers the prospect of considerable savings in fabrication costs and opens the way with innovative technologies to the use of alternative superconducting materials with enhanced intrinsic properties such as critical temperature and critical field. Intensive and coordinated R&D effort is of decisive importance for the scientific community.

The primary aim of the workshop is to support this initiative by providing an opportunity to bring together individuals and institutions working in this effort and infusing expertise of specialists from related disciplines (superconductivity, plasma physics, material science, nanotechnology, RF engineering and industry). Reports on work from each participating group and extensive discussions on existing problems, new ideas and programs for the future constitute the primary focus of the program.

This workshop will be the first of the series where we will not enjoy the company of our esteemed colleagues Enzo Palmieri and Larry Phillips and benefit from their out-of-the-box ideas. They will be dearly missed, but both would have wanted us to carry on with pushing the limits of RF superconductivity with thin film technology.


  • Akira Miyazaki
  • Alban Sublet
  • Alberto Facco
  • Alexei Katashev
  • Alice Moros
  • Alisa Kotliarenko
  • Andrii Tsymbaliuk
  • Anne Marie Valente-Feliciano
  • Antonio Alessandro Rossi
  • Antonio Carabillò
  • Arturs Medvids
  • Chao Dong
  • Claire Antoine
  • Cristian Pira
  • David Beverstock
  • Dmitry Tikhonov
  • Dorothea Fonnesu
  • Eduard Chyhyrynets
  • emanuela barzi
  • Fabio Avino
  • Fabrizio Stivanello
  • Giorgio Keppel
  • Giovanni Bisoffi
  • Giovanni Caldarola
  • Grigory Eremeev
  • Hong Lei WANG
  • Jean-Francois Croteau
  • Luca Zanotto
  • Marc Wenskat
  • Marco Arzeo
  • Maria Gusarova
  • Martina Martinello
  • Mattia Checchin
  • Mauro Taborelli
  • Md Nizam Sayeed
  • Michael Vogel
  • Nilanjal Misra
  • Oleg Malyshev
  • Oleksandr Hryhorenko
  • Oliver Kugeler
  • Omid Seify
  • Oscar Azzolini
  • Paolo Favaron
  • Peng Sha
  • Ping He
  • reza valizadeh
  • Ruggero Vaglio
  • Sabrina Palazzese
  • sarra bira
  • Sebastian Keckert
  • sepideh Aliasghari
  • Sergio Calatroni
  • Silvia Maria Deambrosis
  • Silvia Martin
  • Steven Anlage
  • Stewart Leith
  • Takayuki Kubo
  • Teng Tan
  • Thomas Oseroff
  • Thomas Proslier
  • Uttar Pudasaini
  • Vanessa Garcia
  • Walter Venturini Delsolaro
  • Xiangyang Lu
  • Xiaoxing Xi
  • Yuan He
  • Ziqin Yang
  • Zlatko Filipovski
Workshop Secretariat