JENA Computing Workshop

Auditorium Biagi (Biblioteca Salaborsa)

Auditorium Biagi

Biblioteca Salaborsa

Piazza del Nettuno, 3, 40121 Bologna BO
Andreas Haungs (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology), Claudio Grandi (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare), Luca Dell'Agnello (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare)




To be held as in-person meeting in Bologna, Italy.

Post-Workshop summary of the event: 

link to summary:  Summary.pdf  



At the Joint ECFA-NuPECC-APPEC (JENA) Seminar in May 2022 in Madrid (, both the plenary presentations and the closed session of funding agency representatives revealed that there is an increased need for discussions on the strategy and implementation of European federated computing at future large-scale research facilities. 

The status, needs and plans on a European level for large infrastructures are diverse and not coherent, e.g., 

  • In particle physics the concept for HL-LHC computing is discussed, in particular how the WLCG concept can be adapted to cope with the increased demands.
  • in nuclear physics the computing is currently organized mainly facility based and the community has limited access to the national computing centers
  • in astroparticle physics various totally different computing models for the distributed large-scale infrastructures exist

For all these research areas, issues of scaling will be the challenge of the next decade. Within JENA, synergies and commonalities will be of utmost importance in this scaling.

Therefore, APPEC, ECFA and NuPECC decided to organize a European, cross-community workshop on the strategy of computing.


What are the requirements of computing in the next decade and can we find synergies? Synergies in resources (facilities) as well as in software for efficient use of the resources. 

Identify where synergies are beneficial for all communities (and funding agencies).

This is an initial kick-off workshop. We aim to set up working groups to explore synergies and cooperation in certain areas. The results will be discussed with representatives of the funding agencies at the next JENA symposium.

Topics to be discussed:

We provide here for the time being a tentative agenda on topics for talks, round tables and discussion rounds.  

  • Alastair Dewhurst
  • Altan Çakır
  • Anders Wäänänen
  • Andrea Bartolini
  • Andrea Chierici
  • Andreas Haungs
  • Andreas Petzold
  • Andrej Filipcic
  • Andres Tanasijczuk
  • Balázs Kacskovics
  • Benedetto Giacobbe
  • Bryan McKinnon
  • Caterina Doglioni
  • Claudio Grandi
  • Concezio Bozzi
  • Daniele Spiga
  • David Britton
  • David Chamont
  • David Newbold
  • Davide Salomoni
  • Diego Bettoni
  • Dirk Duellmann
  • Enrica PORCARI
  • Eva dos Santos
  • Fabio Hernandez
  • Franco Carbognani
  • Frank Würthwein
  • Gabriel Stoicea
  • Gabriele-Elisabeth Körner
  • Gonzalo Merino
  • Graeme A Stewart
  • Guenter Duckeck
  • Hervé MOUTARDE
  • Hong Tao
  • Håvard Helstrup
  • Ian Bird
  • Johan Messchendorp
  • John Renner Hansen
  • Josep Flix Molina
  • Karl Jakobs
  • Katy Ellis
  • Laurent Duflot
  • Leonardo Carminati
  • Liliana Teodorescu
  • Luca dell'Agnello
  • Lucio Anderlini
  • Marco Pallavicini
  • Marek Lewitowicz
  • Maria Girone
  • Mattias Wadenstein
  • Michael Bussmann
  • Mihai Ciubancan
  • Mohammad Al-Turany
  • Predrag Buncic
  • Sabine Crépé-Renaudin
  • Sascha Caron
  • Simone Campana
  • Stefan Schlenstedt
  • Stefano Bagnasco
  • Stefano Piano
  • Steven Schramm
  • Thomas Schörner
  • Tommaso Boccali
  • Wojciech Wiślicki