Sep 18 – 24, 2022
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

Beam driven wakefield characteristics probed by femtosecond-scale shadowgraphy

Sep 20, 2022, 6:40 PM
Sala Maria Luisa - Hotel Hermitage

Sala Maria Luisa - Hotel Hermitage

Invited talk Special Topic


Susanne Schoebel (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)


High peak current electron beams from laser wakefield accelerators (LWFA) are capable to drive a particle driven wakefield (PWFA) in a subsequent stage. The intrinsic short duration of these driver beams opens the possibility for PWFA studies in a higher density regime of the order of $10^{18} \cdot \mathrm{cm}^{-3}$. Since optical probing provides a reasonable contrast at this density range, direct insight into the particle-driven wakefields is possible. Here we present the results of femtosecond optical probing of such beam driven wakefields, showing pronounced differences in the morphology of beam driven plasma waves when surrounded by either neutral gas or a broad pre-generated plasma channel. Moreover, the shape and size of the first cavity of the wakefields correlates with the driver beam charge. The experimental results are supported by 3D particle-in-cell simulations performed with PIConGPU. This method can be extended to a detailed study of driver charge depletion by probing the evolution of the wakefield as it propagates through the plasma. This is an important step for further understanding and optimization of high energy efficiency PWFAs.

Primary author

Susanne Schoebel (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)


Richard Pausch (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) Yen-Yu Chang (Helmholtz Zentrum Dresden Rossendorf) Sébastien Corde (Ecole Polytechnique) Jurjen Couperus Cabadağ (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) Alexander Debus (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Hao Ding (LMU München) Andreas Döpp (LMU Munich) Moritz Foerster (LMU Munich) Max Gilljohann (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München) Florian Haberstroh (LMU Munich) Thomas Heinemann (Uni Strathclyde / DESY) Bernhard Hidding Stefan Karsch (LMU Munich) Alexander Koehler (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) Lena Kononenko (Ecole Polytechnique) Thomas Kurz (HZDR) Alastair Nutter (University of Strathclyde / HZDR) Klaus Steiniger (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Patrick Ufer (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Alberto Martinez de la Ossa (DESY) Ulrich Schramm (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Arie Irman (Helmholtz Zentrum Dresden Rossendorf)

Presentation materials