Sep 18 – 24, 2022
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

Traveling-wave electron accelerators – leveraging exascale computing towards scalable laser-plasma accelerators

Sep 21, 2022, 7:15 PM
Sala Elena - Hotel Hermitage

Sala Elena - Hotel Hermitage


Dr Alexander Debus (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)


Traveling-wave electron acceleration (TWEAC) is an advanced laser-plasma accelerator scheme, which is neither limited by dephasing, nor by pump depletion or diffraction. Such accelerators are scalable to energies beyond 10 GeV without the need for staging and are candidates for future compact electron-positron colliders based on existing CPA lasers.
Requiring to model a large plasma volume in 3D at high-resolution over an extended acceleration distance for high-fidelity results, TWEAC simulations need exascale compute resources -- even "small" test simulations need hundreds of GPUs.
We present recent progress in TWEAC simulations and various technical advances in the 3D3V particle-in-cell code PIConGPU that enable running on the upcoming Frontier cluster (#1 in TOP500), most notably support of the HIP computational backend allowing to run on AMD GPUs, as well as openPMD, PICMI and algorithmic developments. These advances are mainly driven by our participation in OLCF’s Frontier Center for Accelerated Application Readiness providing access to the hardware platform of the Frontier exascale supercomputer. We show performance data and present recent applications of PIConGPU profiting from these developments.

Primary author

Dr Alexander Debus (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)


Klaus Steiniger (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr René Widera (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)) Dr Sergei Bastrakov (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)) Mr Finn-Ole Carstens (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)) Mr Felix Meyer (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)) Richard Pausch (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) Dr Marco Garten (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)) Thomas Kluge (HZDR) Dr Jeffrey Kelling (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)) Benjamin Hernandez Arreguin (Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL)) Jeffrey Young (Georgia Institute of Technology) Mr Franz Pöschel (Center for Advanced Systems Understanding (CASUS)) Dr Axel Huebl (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) David Rogers (Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL)) Dr Guido Juckeland (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)) Prof. Sunita Chandrasekaran (University of Delaware (UDEL)) Dr Michael Bussmann (Center for Advanced Systems Understanding (CASUS)) Prof. Ulrich Schramm (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)

Presentation materials