Sep 15 – 21, 2019
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

FLASHForward: first experimental results

Sep 18, 2019, 4:40 PM
SML (Hotel Hermitage)


Hotel Hermitage

talk WG1 - Electron beams from plasmas WG1 - PWFA experimental results


Kristjan Poder (DESY)


Plasma accelerators have great potential to form the basis of the next generation of compact linear colliders or FELs. Along with the high accelerating gradients inherent to plasma devices, another key requirement for such future machines is high beam quality—low emittance and low energy spread. The FLASHForward X-1 experiment is aimed at demonstrating the generation and subsequent acceleration of such ultra-high quality electron bunches. The unique combination of a stable, FEL-quality electron beam driver and a 10fs-level synhcronised 25 TW laser system allows for demonstration, development and detailed diagnosis of such plasma cathodes. The FLASHForward X-2 experiment will further demonstrate external injection and acceleration of high-quality electron bunches. Using a longitudinally shaped double bunch of electrons, the goal is to show emittance preservation, high-efficiency, low energy spread acceleration in a plasma. We report on the excellent recent progress of these two experiments, as well as our exciting plans for upcoming experimental campaigns.

Primary authors


A. Martinez de la Ossa (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Alberto Martinez de la Ossa (DESY) Alexander Aschikhin (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Alexander Knetsch (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Mr Amir Rahali (DESY) Mr Andrej Schleiermacher (DESY) Bernhard Schmidt (DESY) Brian Foster (DESY) Brian Foster (University of Hamburg/DESY/Oxford) Bridget Sheeran (DESY) Mr Frank Marutzky (DESY) Gabriele Tauscher (DESY) Gregory Boyle (DESY) James Chappell (University College London) Jan-Hendrik Roeckemann (DESY) Jan-Patrick Schwinkendorf (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) Jens Osterhoff (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Jimmy Garland (DESY, Hamburg) Joern Schaffran (Deutsches Elektronen Synchrotron) Mr Kai Ludwig (DESY) Lars Goldberg (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Lewis Boulton (University Of Strathclyde / DESY) Lucas Schaper (University Hamburg / DESY) Mr Maik Dinter (DESY) Mr Martin Meisel (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) Mr Martin Quast (DESY) Ming Zeng (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Pardis Niknejadi (DESY) Pau Gonzalez Caminal (DESY, Universität Hamburg) Mr Paul Pourmoussavi (DESY) Paul Winkler (DESY) Mr Peng Kuang (DESY) Richard D'Arcy (DESY) Mrs Sandra Thiele (DESY) Sarah Schroeder (DESY) Severin Diederichs (University of Hamburg/DESY/LBNL) Simon Bohlen (DESY - FLA) Stephan Wesch (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Mr Sven Karstensen (DESY) Ms Theresa Brümmer (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) Theresa Staufer Timon Mehrling (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Timon Mehrling (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Vladyslav Libov (DESY)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.