Sep 15 – 21, 2019
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

Ultra-High Intensity Laser Research at BELLA

Sep 18, 2019, 6:20 PM
SBIO (Hotel Biodola)


Hotel Biodola

talk WG2 - Ion beams from plasmas WG2


Sven Steinke (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)


This presentation will review the status of ion acceleration at the BELLA petawatt (PW) facility with a large laser spot (f\65) and give an outlook on science enabled by a short-focal length (f\2.5) laser beamline, currently under construction.
Proton beams from the long-focal length beam line exhibit a strongly reduced divergence and increased ion numbers and are hence, ideally suited for subsequent capture and transport with an active plasma lens (APL).
As part of our development of an experimental platform for investigating radiobiological effects of laser-accelerated ions, we were able to irradiate normal and radioresistant prostate cancer tumor cell samples with over 1500 PW shots using the APL.
The new the short-focal length beamline will be equipped with a re-collimating double-plasma mirror to study laser-plasma interactions at ultra-high temporal contrast. BELLA is now part of LaserNetUS, providing international user access.

The work was supported by Laboratory Directed Research and Development (LDRD) funding from LBNL provided by the Director, and the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science Offices of High Energy Physics and Fusion Energy Sciences, under Contract No. DE-AC02-05CH11231. Work at BELLA was also supported by LaserNetUS ( JHB acknowledges financial support from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

Primary author

Sven Steinke (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)


Jianhui Bin (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Dr Antoine Snijders (LBNL) Dr Jian-Mao Mao (LBNL) Dr Qing Ji (LBNL) Dr Kei Nakamura (LBNL) Anthony Gonsalves (LBNL) Stepan Bulanov (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Dr Cameron Geddes (LBNL) Carl Schroeder (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Dr Thomas Schenkel (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Dr Eleanor Blakely (LBNL) Dr Eric Esarey (LBNL)

Presentation materials