Sep 15 – 21, 2019
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

Progress towards laser plasma electron based free electron laser on COXINEL

Sep 17, 2019, 4:40 PM
SE (Hotel Hermitage)


Hotel Hermitage

talk WG4 - Application of compact and high-gradient accelerators WG4 - FEL


Marie Emmanuelle Couprie (Synchrotron SOLEIL)


The Free Electron Laser (FEL) application of Laser plasma acceleration (LPA) requires the handling of energy spread and divergence. The COXINEL (ERC340015) manipulation line designed and built at SOLEIL [1, 2] consists of variable permanent magnet quadrupoles [3] for divergence mitigation and a decompression chicane for energy sorting, enabling FEL amplification. The COXINEL line, installed at Laboratoire d’Optique Appliquée, uses electrons generated and accelerated by ionization injection for robustness using a 30 TW laser. The electron position and dispersion are independently adjusted [4]. The undulator radiation emitted presents a wavelength stability of 2.6 %, a gap driven tuneability and a linewidth control. However, the electron used for the first experiments deviated from the baseline reference case, because of the rather simple LPA configuration and the limited laser energy. With currently achieved performance on different LPA experiments, FEL effect is within reach. Further calculations indicate that in the seeded configuration, the FEL radiation is red shifted with respect to the seed wavelength and present an interference fringe pattern. Those behaviours can be interpreted with simple theoretical models, which can further enable a full temporal reconstruction of the FEL pulse temporal amplitude and phase distributions.

Primary authors

Alain Lestrade Alexandre Loulergue (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Amin Ghaith (SOLEIL) Dr Cedric Thaury Dr Charles Kitegi Christian Herbeaux Dr Chrsitophe Szwaj Dr Clément Evain Dr Fabien Briquez Fabrice Marteau François Bouvet Frederic Blache Dr Guillaume Lambert Igor Andriyash (Weizmann Institute of Science) J.-P. Goddet (LOA, ENSTA ParisTech, CNRS, Ecole Polytechnique, Institut Polytechnique de Paris) Jean-Pierre Duval Dr Julien Gautier Keihan Tavakoli Marie Emmanuelle Couprie (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Martin Khojoyan (SOLEIL synchrotron) Mathieu Valléau Mourad Sebdaoui Moussa El Ajjouri Nicolas Hubert Nicolas Leclercq Dr Olivier Marcouillé Patrick Rommeluère S. Corde (LOA, ENSTA ParisTech, CNRS, Ecole Polytechnique, Institut Polytechnique de Paris) Slava Smartzev Thomas ANDRE (Synchroron SOLEIL) Victor Malka (LOA) Yannick Dietrich driss oumbarek (synchrotron soleil) Dr eleonore roussel (Univ. Lille, CNRS, UMR 8523 - PhLAM - Physique des Lasers Atomes et Molécules) kim TA PHUOC (LOA) Dr marie labat (synchrotron soleil) Dr olena kononenko (LOA, École polytechnique, ENSTA ParisTech, CNRS) Prof. serge bielawski (Univ. Lille, CNRS, UMR 8523 - PhLAM - Physique des Lasers Atomes et Molécules)

Presentation materials