Sep 15 – 21, 2019
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

Modeling the L|PWFA hybrid accelerator using PIConGPU

Sep 16, 2019, 4:20 PM
Sala Bonaparte 2 (SB2) (Hotel Hermitage)

Sala Bonaparte 2 (SB2)

Hotel Hermitage

talk WG6 - Theory and simulations WG6


Klaus Steiniger (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Alexander Debus (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)


The hybrid L|PWFA acceleration scheme combines laser- (LWFA) with plasma-wakefield acceleration (PWFA) to provide an ultra-compact, high-brightness electron source. Recently, the acceleration of a witness bunch using this hybrid scheme was demonstrated at HZDR. In this talk, we present recent start-to-end simulations, that accompanied the experimental campaign, and provided fundamental insights into the injection and acceleration process of this novel, compact accelerator. These accompanying simulations were performed using the 3D3V particle-in-cell code PIConGPU. A significantly enhanced agreement between theoretical predictions and experimental measurements could be achieved by resembling the experiment to a very high degree. Modeling the geometry, density distributions, laser modes, and gas dopings as measured in the experiments provided good comparability between experiment and simulation. With that degree of agreement, the wealth of information provided by the in-situ data analysis of PIConGPU provided insight into the plasma dynamics, otherwise inaccessible in experiments. The talk will not only focus on explaining the fundamental physical process behind this hybrid scheme but will further elaborate on the essential details that produce the quasi-monoenergetic witness bunches seen in experiment. Furthermore, we will discuss the associated challenges in maintaining numerical stability and experimental comparability of these long-duration simulations.

Primary authors

Richard Pausch (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) Klaus Steiniger (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Marco Garten (HZDR) René Widera (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) Axel Huebl (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) Michael Bussmann (Forschungszentrum Dresden-Rossendorf e.V.) Mr Thomas Kurz (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Jurjen Couperus Cabadağ (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) S. Schöbel ( Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, Institute of Radiation Physics) Y.-Y. Chang (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, Institute of Radiation Physics) Thomas Heinemann (Uni Strathclyde / DESY) Hao Ding (LMU München) Andreas Döpp (LMU Munich) Max Gilljohann (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München) Dr Olena Kononenko (LOA, École polytechnique, ENSTA ParisTech, CNRS) G. Raj (LOA, ENSTA ParisTech, CNRS, Ecole Polytechnique, Institut Polytechnique de Paris) Sébastien Corde (Ecole Polytechnique) B. Hidding (Scottish Universities Physics Alliance, Department of Physics, University of Strathclyde; Cockcroft Institute, Sci-Tech Daresbury) S. Karsch (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München; Max Planck Institut für Quantenoptik) Alberto Martinez de la Ossa (DESY) Arie Irman (Helmholtz Zentrum Dresden Rossendorf) Ulrich Schramm (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Alexander Debus (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)

Presentation materials