Sep 15 – 21, 2019
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

Plasma afterglow metrology at CLARA

Sep 18, 2019, 7:00 PM
Parking Area (Hotel Hermitage)

Parking Area

Hotel Hermitage

poster WG5 - Plasma devices, plasma and beam diagnostics Cheese and Wine Poster Session 2


Alastair James Nutter (University of Strathclyde)


The field of plasma acceleration has undergone rapid advancement in recent years, with significant progress being made towards the production of stable high quality electron beams. With this progression comes new avenues of research into potential applications, facilitating the need for precise understanding and control of the femtosecond-micrometer scale interaction process. Experimental results from the Stanford linear accelerator FACET I facility have demonstrated the potential for plasma afterglow as a novel diagnostic for the spatiotemporal synchronisation of laser and electron beam. Recent work at the Daresbury laboratory CLARA facility continues this investigation into plasma afterglow, utilising a low energy relativistic electron beam interacting with a partially ionised Argon plasma. Analysis of features within the plasma afterglow and electron-beam spectrometer data is presented, along with discussion of potential sources such as gas dynamics and partial plasma lensing. Further discussion will address upcoming experiments at the FACET II facility (E315 & E316) and at Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, which seek to examine this diagnostic for application in both PWFA and hybrid acceleration schemes.

Primary author

Alastair James Nutter (University of Strathclyde)


Deepa Angal-Kalinin (STFC, Daresbury Laboratory) Oznur Apsimon (The University of Manchester) Lewis Boulton (University Of Strathclyde / DESY) Mr Anthony Gleeson (STFC, Daresbury Laboratory) Thomas Heinemann (Uni Strathclyde / DESY) Dr Harry Jones (University of Liverpool) Dr Grace Gloria Manahan (University of Strathclyde) Dr Antoine Maitrallain (University of Strathclyde) Thomas Pacey (STFC, Daresbury Lab., ASTeC) Dr Lewis Ramsay Reid (University of Strathclyde) Paul Scherkl (University of Strathclyde) Dr Edward Snedden (STFC, Daresbury Lab., ASTeC) Andrew Sutherland (University of Strathclyde) Daniel Ullmann (University of Strathclyde) Dr David Walsh (STFC, Daresbury Lab., ASTeC) Alexander Knetsch (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Laura Corner (Cockcroft Institute, University of Liverpool) Arie Irman (Helmholtz Zentrum Dresden Rossendorf) Ulrich Schramm (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) John Cary (Tech-X Corporation) Mark Hogan (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Vitaly Yakimenko (SLAC) James Rosenzweig (UCLA) Prof. Bernhard Hidding (Scottish Universities Physics Alliance, Department of Physics, University of Strathclyde; Cockcroft Institute, Sci-Tech Daresbury)

Presentation materials