Sep 24 – 30, 2017
La Biodola, Isola d'Elba
Europe/Rome timezone

Design concept for THz-driven electron streaking with ultrahigh resolution

Sep 25, 2017, 4:20 PM
SB1, Sala Bonaparte 1, HH

SB1, Sala Bonaparte 1, HH

talk WG5 - High-Gradient Plasma Structures/Advanced Beam Diagnostics WG5_Parallel


Ms Mozhgan Hayati (University of Bern)


We propose a new concept for a femto- to sub-femtosecond resolution electron streaking detector. It is based on a split ring resonator (SRR), which is loaded by a single cycle THz pulse. The methodology relies on a resonant THz sub-wavelength structure irradiated with an intense single cycle THz pulse. The deflecting electrodes and the RF streaking field of a standard streaking device are replaced by a SRR and the electric near-field in its gap, respectively. The electron bunch passing through the SRR’s gap experiences a transverse momentum with sign and magnitude depending on the longitudinal bunch position. Thus, the longitudinal bunch density is mapped onto the transverse axis and can be easily measured with a spatially resolving electron detector. THz-driven streaking should be well adapted to measure ultrashort electron bunches, even on a single-shot basis. A first proof-of-principle experiment will be performed at the FLUTE accelerator test facility at KIT, Germany.

Primary author

Ms Mozhgan Hayati (University of Bern)


Prof. Anke Susanne Müller (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) Dr Erik Bründermann (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) Dr Gudrun Niehues (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) Dr Marcel Schuh (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) Dr Markus Schwarz (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) Dr Michael Nasse (Karlsruhe institute of Technology) Dr Minjie Yan (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) Dr Pawl Wesolowski (karlsruhe Institute of Technology) Dr Rasmus Ischebeck (PSI) Dr Robert Ruprecht (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) Dr Roxana Tarkeshian (Universität Bern) Dr Stefan Funkner (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) Mr Thiemo Schmelzer (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) Prof. Thomas Feurer (University of Bern) Dr Volker Schlott (Paul Scherrer Institute) Dr Zoltan Ollmann (University of Bern) Dr micha Dehler (Paul Scherrer Institute)

Presentation materials