Jun 21 – 26, 2015
Dipartimento di Fisica ed Astronomia, Università di Catania
Europe/Rome timezone
All the plenary sessions will be transmitted in streaming on the web. From Monday, June 22nd, a link will be available <a href='http://www.streamago.tv/channel/54955/default/iframe/' target='blank'> here </a>

Asymmetry Dependence of the Nuclear Caloric Curve

Jun 25, 2015, 3:20 PM
INFN-LNS, Sala Conferenze (INFN-Laboratori Nazionali del Sud)

INFN-LNS, Sala Conferenze

INFN-Laboratori Nazionali del Sud

Oral presentation Equation of State of Neutron-Rich Nuclear Matter, Clusters in Nuclei and Nuclear Reactions Equation of State of Neutron-Rich Nuclear Matter, Clusters in Nuclei and Nuclear Reactions


Dr Alan McIntosh (Texas A&amp;M Univeristy, USA)

Click here to download the template: <a href="https://agenda.infn.it/materialDisplay.py?materialId=3&confId=5235"> Word </a>, <a href="https://agenda.infn.it/materialDisplay.py?materialId=2&confId=5235">Latex</a>

My recent measurements have demonstrated a dependence of the caloric curve on the neutron-proton asymmetry. If confirmed, this represents a new feature of the nuclear equation of state. These results were made possible by the complete isotopic reconstruction of excited quasi-projectiles produced in heavy ion collisions. I will discuss the isotopic reconstruction and multiple probes of the the temperature, which are the strengths of this measurement. I will address the uncertainty which arises from the neutron measurement. I will present the status of an independent experiment designed to measure the caloric curve in a way that completely eliminates the previous uncertainties and will allow us to confirm or deny our initial discovery.

Primary author

Dr Alan McIntosh (Texas A&amp;M Univeristy, USA)


Aldo Bonasera (LNS) Mr Andrew Zarrella (Texas A&M University) Prof. George Souliotis (University of Athens) Dr Justin Mabiala (Texax A&M University) Dr Kris Hagel (Cyclotron Institute, Texas A &amp; M University) Mr Larry May (Texas A&M Universty) Ms Lauren Heilborn (Texas A&M University) Dr Paola Marini (Texas A&M University) Dr Paul Cammarata (Texas A&M University) Dr Sara Wuenschel (Texas A&M University) Prof. Sherry Yennello (Texas A&M University) Dr hua zheng (Istituto Nazionale de Fisica Nucleare Laboratori Nazionali del Sud (INFN,LNS))

Presentation materials