Sep 15 – 21, 2019
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

Laser-wakefield accelerators for high-resolution X-ray imaging of complex microstructures

Sep 19, 2019, 4:00 PM
Sala Elena (SE) (Hotel Hermitage)

Sala Elena (SE)

Hotel Hermitage

talk WG4 - Application of compact and high-gradient accelerators WG4


Amina Hussein (University of California, Irvine)


Laser-wakefield accelerators (LWFAs) are high acceleration-gradient plasma-based particle accelerators capable of producing ultra-relativistic electron beams. Within the strong focusing fields of the wakefield, accelerated electrons undergo betatron oscillations, emitting a bright pulse of X-rays with a micrometer-scale source size that may be used for imaging applications. Non-destructive X-ray phase contrast imaging and tomography of heterogeneous materials can provide insight into their processing, structure, and performance. To demonstrate the imaging capability of X-rays from an LWFA, we have examined an irregular eutectic in the aluminum-silicon (Al-Si) system. The lamellar spacing of the Al-Si eutectic microstructure is on the order of a few micrometers, thus requiring high spatial resolution. We present comparisons between the sharpness and spatial resolution in phase contrast images of this eutectic alloy obtained via X-ray phase contrast imaging at the Swiss Light Source (SLS) synchrotron and X-ray projection microscopy via an LWFA source. An upper bound on the resolving power of 2.7 $\pm$ 0.3 $\mu$m of the LWFA source in this experiment was measured. These results indicate that betatron X-rays from LWFA can provide an alternative to conventional synchrotron sources for high resolution imaging of eutectics and, more broadly, complex microstructures.

Primary authors

Amina Hussein (University of California, Irvine) Dr Nancy Senabuyla (University of Michigan) Dr Yong Ma (University of Michigan) Matthew Streeter (The Cockcroft Institute) Brendan Kettle (Imperial College London) Dr Stephen Dann (Lancaster University) Felicie Albert (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) Nicolas Bourgeois (University of Oxford) Dr Silivia Cipiccia (Diamond Light Source, Harwell Science and Innovation Campus) Jason Cole (Imperial College London) Oliver Finlay (Lancaster University) Elias Gerstmayr (Imperial College London) Isabel Gallardo Gonzalez (Lund University) Dr Andrew Higginbotham (University of York) Prof. Dino Jaroszynski (University of Strathclyde) Dr Katerina Falk (ELI Beamline) Karl Krushelnick (University of Michigan/Laboratoire d'Optique Appliquee) Nuno Candeias Lemos (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) Dr Nelson Lopes (Imperial College London) Ms Caroline Lumsdon (University of York) Olle Lundh (Lund University) Stuart Mangles (Imperial College London) Zulfikar Najmudin (Imperial College London) Dr Pattathil Rajeev (Central Laser Facility, STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory) Dr Christian Schlepütz (Swiss Light Source, Paul Scherrer Institute) Muhammad Ikram Shahzad (Scientific and Research Organization) Dr Michal Smid (ELI Beamline) Dr Roman Spesyvtsev (University of Strathclyde ) Daniel Symes (Rutherford Appleton Laboratory) Dr Gregory Vieux (University of Strathclyde) Louise Willingale (University of Michigan) Jonathan Wood (Imperial College London) Prof. Ashwin Shahani (University of Michigan) Dr Alec Thomas (University of Michigan)

Presentation materials