ATTENZIONE: Lunedì 15 Luglio, dalle 13:00 alle 15:00 sarà effettuato un intervento di manutenzione su Durante tale fascia oraria il servizio potrà risultare non raggiungibile.

ATTENTION: On Monday 15 July, from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm, maintenance will be carried out on During this time slot, the service may be unreachable.

Sep 15 – 21, 2019
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

X-band TDS simulations and commissioning

Sep 19, 2019, 5:00 PM
SB1 (Hotel Hermitage)


Hotel Hermitage

talk WG5 - Plasma devices, plasma and beam diagnostics WG5 - Diagnostics


Pau Gonzalez (DESY)


Understanding of both driver and witness bunches in beam-driven plasma-wakefield acceleration (PWFA) experiments is critical in order to gain a deeper insight into what happens behind the scenes of the plasma cell i.e. validation of theory and control over the acceleration processes. However, witness bunches with lengths on the order of several femtoseconds are difficult to temporally resolve with traditional diagnostic methods. In order to characterise the longitudinal phase space of these short bunches a new polarisable transverse deflection RF structure (TDS) working in the X-Band range (11.99 GHz) will be installed at the FLASHForward facility at DESY. To assess the capabilities and limitations of this device during its upcoming operation, as well as to optimise the sometimes challenging transport of the accelerated electrons from the plasma cell to the TDS, particle tracking simulations have been performed. Here the results of these simulations for scenarios including external and internal injection will be presented.

Primary authors

Pau Gonzalez (DESY) A Aschikhin Simon Bohlen (DESY - FLA) Gregory Boyle (DESY) Lewis Boulton (University Of Strathclyde / DESY) Richard D'Arcy (DESY) Mr Maik Dinter (DESY) Ms Theresa Brümmer (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) James Chappell (University College London) Severin Diederichs (University of Hamburg/DESY/LBNL) Brian Foster (University of Hamburg/DESY/Oxford) Jimmy Garland (DESY, Hamburg) Lars Goldberg (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Mr Sven Karstensen (DESY) Alexander Knetsch (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Mr Peng Kuang (DESY) Vladyslav Libov (DESY) Carl A. Lindstrøm (DESY) Mr Kai Ludwig (DESY) Alberto Martinez de la Ossa (DESY) Mr Frank Marutzky (DESY) Mr Martin Meisel (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) Timon Mehrling Pardis Niknejadi (DESY) Kristjan Poder (DESY) Mr Amir Rahali (DESY) Mr Jan-Hendrick Röckemann Joern Schaffran (Deutsches Elektronen Synchrotron) Lucas Schaper (University Hamburg / DESY) Mr Andrej Schleiermacher (DESY) Bernhard Schmidt (DESY) Sarah Schroeder (DESY) Jan-Patrick Schwinkendorf (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) Bridget Sheeran (DESY) Gabriele Tauscher (DESY) Mrs Sandra Thiele (DESY) Stephan Wesch (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Ming Zeng (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Jens Osterhoff (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY)

Presentation materials