ATTENZIONE: Lunedì 15 Luglio, dalle 13:00 alle 15:00 sarà effettuato un intervento di manutenzione su Durante tale fascia oraria il servizio potrà risultare non raggiungibile.

ATTENTION: On Monday 15 July, from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm, maintenance will be carried out on During this time slot, the service may be unreachable.

Sep 15 – 21, 2019
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

Alternating phase focusing in dielectric laser acceleration

Sep 18, 2019, 7:00 PM
Parking Area (Hotel Hermitage)

Parking Area

Hotel Hermitage

poster WG3 - Electron beams from electromagnetic structures, including dielectric and laser-driven structures Cheese and Wine Poster Session 2


Johannes Illmer (Chair for Laserphysics, FAU)


Utilizing photonic nanostructures and ultra-short laser pulses, dielectric laser acceleration (DLA) provides a scheme for high gradient particle accelerators. In the past, this concept was limited by insufficient beam transport through longer structures and the inability to stage multiple structures without particle loss. The concept of alternating phase focusing (APF) provides a way to transport and accelerate electrons over, in principle, infinitely long structures with little particle loss. By alternating between the phases longitudinally focusing – transversely defocusing and longitudinally defocusing – transversely focusing, the particle beam can be confined both longitudinally and in one transverse direction [1]. We have experimentally demonstrated APF transport in a well-suited nanostructure. The particle beam used consists of 30 keV electrons of an ultrafast SEM. The APF structure used in the experiment shows a boost in electron throughput of up to 100% when illuminated by laser pulses. Preliminary data indicate good agreement with theory simulations.
[1] U. Niedermayer, Thilo Egenolf, Oliver Boine-Frankenheim, and Peter Hommelhoff, Phys. Rev. Lett. 121, 214801 (2018)

Primary author

Johannes Illmer (Chair for Laserphysics, FAU)


Mrs Anna Mittelbach (Chair for Laserphysics, FAU) Uwe Niedermayer (TU-Darmstadt) Norbert Schönenberger (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg) Roy Shiloh (Chair of Laserphysics (FAU)) Peter Hommelhoff (University of Erlangen and Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.