Sep 15 – 21, 2019
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

Optimization towards the demonstration of high-quality electron-beam generation from density downramp injection in a beam driven PWFA at FLASHForward

Sep 18, 2019, 7:00 PM
Parking Area (Hotel Hermitage)

Parking Area

Hotel Hermitage

poster WG1 - Electron beams from plasmas Cheese and Wine Poster Session 2


Alexander Knetsch (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY)


Beam-driven plasma wakefield accelerators allow for the generation and subsequent acceleration of electron beams inside the plasma
with substantially lower emittance than the driving electron beam, eventually providing technology for final-focus brightness converters for versatile applications. Among a variety of internal injection techniques, density downramp injection has the potential to reliably produce sub-micrometer emittance electron beams. The FLASHForward TW laser system allows for the ionization of wide plasma columns in a gas capillary and controlled density spikes, by selectively ionizing gas constitutes. This allows for shaping the plasma density profiles in order to control beam parameters.
We report on the recent progress in preparation and commissioning efforts for the optimization and realization of the generated electron beams.

Primary authors

Alexander Knetsch (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Bridget Sheeran (DESY)


Ming Zeng (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Paul Winkler (DESY) Stephan Wesch (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Mrs Sandra Thiele (DESY) Gabriele Tauscher (DESY) Theresa Staufer Jan-Patrick Schwinkendorf (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) Sarah Schroeder (DESY) Bernhard Schmidt (DESY) Mr Andrej Schleiermacher (DESY) Lucas Schaper (University Hamburg / DESY) Mr Jan-Hendrick Röckemann Mr Amir Rahali (DESY) Alberto Martinez de la Ossa (DESY) Mr Kai Ludwig (DESY) Carl A. Lindstrøm (DESY) Vladyslav Libov (DESY) Mr Peng Kuang (DESY) Mr Sven Karstensen (DESY) Pau Gonzalez Caminal (DESY, Universität Hamburg) Lars Goldberg (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Jimmy Garland (DESY, Hamburg) Jimmy Garland (Manchester University) Brian Foster (University of Hamburg/DESY/Oxford) Severin Diederichs (University of Hamburg/DESY/LBNL) Richard D'Arcy (DESY) Alexander Aschikhin (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Gregory Boyle (DESY) Simon Bohlen (DESY - FLA) Mr Maik Dinter (DESY) James Chappell (University College London) Mr Martin Meisel (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) Pardis Niknejadi (DESY) Mr Paul Pourmoussavi (DESY) Lewis Boulton (University Of Strathclyde / DESY) Ms Theresa Brümmer (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) Mr Frank Marutzky (DESY) Timon Mehrling (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Kristjan Poder (DESY) Dr Jens Osterhoff (Desy) Daniel Ullmann (University of Strathclyde) T. Heinemann (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY; Scottish Universities Physics Alliance, Department of Physics, University of Strathclyde) B. Hidding (Scottish Universities Physics Alliance, Department of Physics, University of Strathclyde; Cockcroft Institute, Sci-Tech Daresbury) Joern Schaffran (Deutsches Elektronen Synchrotron)

Presentation materials