Sep 15 – 21, 2019
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

High-brightness electron beams from hybrid LWFA-PWFA staging

Sep 18, 2019, 7:00 PM
Parking Area (Hotel Hermitage)

Parking Area

Hotel Hermitage

poster WG1 - Electron beams from plasmas Cheese and Wine Poster Session 2


Thomas Heinemann (Uni Strathclyde / DESY)


Plasma wakefield accelerators can provide gigavolt-per-centimetre energy gain, offering a promising path towards compact electron sources. They rely on the generation of plasma waves driven by either a high-current charged particle beam (PWFA) or an intense laser pulse (LWFA).
PWFAs offer particularly attractive regimes of injecting and accelerating a new high-quality electron beam, but typically require a large preceding accelerator providing the drive beam. However, compact laser-driven wakefield accelerators have recently demonstrated their capability of delivering such high-current electron beams with ideal drive beam properties.
This allows to combine both methods into a staged LWFA-driven PWFA, which effectively operates as a beam quality transformer.
Such a hybrid staging thus offers an attractive approach which promises to deliver high-brightness electron beams within a centimetre-scale accelerating structure.
The talk will summarise the unique aspects LWFA-driven PWFA and will present recent results of a first experimental implementation.
It will furthermore discuss current strategies for controlled injection towards the generation of high-brightness beams suitable for applications such as future compact light sources.

Primary authors

Thomas Heinemann (Uni Strathclyde / DESY) Mr Thomas Kurz (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)


Jurjen Couperus Cabadağ (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) Susanne Schoebel (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Y.-Y. Chang (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, Institute of Radiation Physics) Alexander Koehler (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) Omid Zarini (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf e.V.) Ulrich Schramm (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Richard Pausch (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) Alexander Debus (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Michael Bussmann (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Max Gilljohann (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München) Hao Ding (LMU München) Johannes Goetzfried (Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich) Sabine Schindler (LMU München) Andreas Döpp (LMU Munich) S. Karsch (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München; Max Planck Institut für Quantenoptik) Alexander Knetsch (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Ralph Assmann (DESY) Dr olena kononenko (LOA, École polytechnique, ENSTA ParisTech, CNRS) Sébastien Corde (Ecole Polytechnique) Alastair Nutter (University of Strathclyde) Mr Gavin Kirwan (University of Strathclyde) Daniel Ullmann (University of Strathclyde) Ahmad Fahim Habib (SUPA, Department of Physics, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK and Cockcroft Institute, Sci-Tech, Daresbury, UK.) Andrew Beaton (University of Strathclyde) Paul Scherkl (University of Strathclyde) B. Hidding (Scottish Universities Physics Alliance, Department of Physics, University of Strathclyde; Cockcroft Institute, Sci-Tech Daresbury) Arie Irman (Helmholtz Zentrum Dresden Rossendorf) Alberto Martinez de la Ossa (DESY)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.