Sep 15 – 21, 2019
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

Single-shot multi-keV X-ray absorption spectroscopy using an ultrashort laser wakefield accelerator source

Sep 18, 2019, 7:00 PM
Parking Area (Hotel Hermitage)

Parking Area

Hotel Hermitage

poster WG4 - Application of compact and high-gradient accelerators Cheese and Wine Poster Session 2


Brendan Kettle (Imperial College London)


X-ray absorption spectroscopy can provide a wealth of information about a sample, including a simultaneous measurement of the temperature and structure of both the electrons and ions, via techniques such as XANES (X-ray Absorption Near Edge Structure). If these measurements can be made using a single ultrashort probe pulse at multi-keV energies, they provide a powerful tool for investigating ultrafast processes and laboratory-based high energy-density (HED) samples. States which are notoriously difficult to probe due to their extreme conditions and transient nature.

The X-rays generated by a laser wakefield driven electron beam are uniquely suited for such measurements. The pulse duration is on the order of 10's of femtoseconds, the photon flux and energy available ($E_{crit}\approx$ 25 keV) can penetrate relatively large samples, and the smooth broadband spectrum is ideal for absorption measurements.

We present single-shot XANES measurements of the K-edge of a cold titanium sample from a recent experiment at the Gemini laser facility. Quantitative measurements of the slope and pre-edge absorption features are made. With appropriate experiment setup improvements the post-edge features should be resolvable, providing access to the ion component of the sample.

Primary author

Brendan Kettle (Imperial College London)


Elias Gerstmayr (Imperial College London) Dr Matthew Streeter (Imperial College London) Dr Rory Baggott (Imperial College London) Robbie Watt (Imperial College London) Jason Cole (Imperial College London) Dr Nelson Lopes (Instituto Superior Técnico) Felicie Albert (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) Nuno Candeias Lemos (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) Isabel Gallardo Gonzalez (Lund University) Olle Lundh (Lund University) Amina Hussein Dr Yong Ma (University of Michigan) Dr Michal Smid (ELI Beamline) Dr Katerina Falk (ELI Beamline) Dr Nicolas Bourgeois (Central Laser Facility (CLF)) Daniel Symes (Rutherford Appleton Laboratory) Christopher Spindloe (Central Laser Facility) Dr Stephen Dann (Central Laser Facility) Dr Alec Thomas (University of Michigan) Prof. Steven Rose (Imperial College London) Stuart Mangles (Imperial College London)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.