Sep 24 – 30, 2017
La Biodola, Isola d'Elba
Europe/Rome timezone

Study of the electron transport in the COXINEL FEL beamline using a laser plasma accelerated electron beam

Sep 27, 2017, 4:00 PM
SB1, Sala Bonaparte 1, HH

SB1, Sala Bonaparte 1, HH

talk WG4 - Applications of Compact and High-Gradient Accelerators WG4_Parallel


Thomas ANDRE (Synchroron SOLEIL)


The ERC Advanced Grant COXINEL aims at demonstrating free electron laser (FEL) amplification based on laser plasma accelerator (LPA) source. Due to the large energy spread and high divergence, in comparison to conventional accelerators, a 10 m long transport line was designed to preserve and improve the beam qualities. A triplet of permanent magnet variable gradient quadrupoles (QUAPEVA) handles the large divergence. The slice energy spread is reduced by a magnetic chicane. A set of electromagnetic quadrupoles provides a chromatic focusing in a 2 m long undulator. A reference model was established and sensibility to parameters studies were carried out. Electrons were transported through the line for the LPA with ionization assisted self-injection (broad energy spectra up to ~220 MeV, few milliradians divergence), and with shock-injection, where energy spread is much smaller (few percent). Beam position and dispersion are controlled precisely thanks to specific beam based alignment method using displacement of the QUAPEVA magnetic center. The transported energy range was also controlled using a slit inserted in the chicane. Experimental results and numerical simulations are in a good agreement.

Primary author

Thomas ANDRE (Synchroron SOLEIL)


Mr Alain Lestrade (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Dr Alexandre Loulergue (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Benoit Mahieu (LOA) Mr Christian Herbeaux (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Christophe Szwaj (PhLAM) Mr Clément Evain (PhLAM) Mr Cédric Thaury (LOA) Mr Fabien Briquez (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Fabrice Marteau (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr François Bouvet (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Frédéric Blache (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Guillaume Lambert (LOA) Mr Igor Andriyash (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Jean-Pierre Duval (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Julien Gautier (LOA) Mr Keihan Tavakoli (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mrs Marie Labat (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Dr Marie-Emmanuelle Couprie (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Martin Khojoyan (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Mathieu Valléau (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Mourad Sebdaoui (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Moussa El Ajjouri (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Nicolas Hubert (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Nicolas Leclercq (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Olivier Marcouillé (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Patrick N'Gotta (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Patrick Rommeluere (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Sebastien CORDE CORDE (Laboratoire d'Optique Appliquée) Mr Serge Bielaxski (PhLAM) Prof. Victor Malka (LOA) Mr Yannick Dietrich (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Dr kim TA PHUOC (LOA)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.