Jul 22 – 26, 2019
Europe/Rome timezone

Modeling low-Tc Transition-Edge Sensors Made of Multi-layer Metal Films: Thickness Dependence of Electron Transparency at Interfaces

Jul 25, 2019, 5:45 PM
1h 15m
Piazza Città di Lombardia (Milano)

Piazza Città di Lombardia


Piazza Città di Lombardia, 1, 20124 Milano MI
Poster Low Temperature Detector Development and Physics Poster session


Gensheng Wang (ANL)


Cryogenic neutrinoless double beta decay searches and low mass particle dark matter searches require a Transition-Edge Sensor (TES) with a high energy resolution. An effective way to improve the energy resolution of a TES detector is to use low-Tc TES. The common practice making a low-Tc TES is using the proximity effect, in which the Tc of a superconducting film is reduced with a normal metal film on one side or with two normal metal films on both sides. The resulting Tc of the bilayer or trilayer TES can be understood by solving the Usadel equations with given boundary conditions. But when solving the Usadel equations in the microscopic description, the electron transparency at the interface or the interface resistance is usually assumed to be a constant (independent on the thicknesses of films). In this paper, we will introduce the film thickness dependence of the electron transparency at the interface, and summarize the modeling results of a bilayer and a trilayer TESs in the microscopic description. Utilizing the experimental data from several resources, including the data from our group and the data in literature, we will compare the fit parameters and fit errors using the model described in this work and the model assuming a constant electron transparency at the interface.

Student (Ph.D., M.Sc. or B.Sc.) N
Less than 5 years of experience since completion of Ph.D N

Primary authors

Dr Alexey Drobizhev (University of California, Berkeley) Dr Benjamin Schmidt (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Dr Bradford Welliver (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Brian Fujikawa (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) C. Li (UC Berkeley) Clarence Chang (Argonne National Lab) Dr G Karapetrov (Drexel University) Gensheng Wang (ANL) Giovanni Benato (University of California Berkeley) Dr J.L. Ouellet (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) Jianjie Zhang (ANL) Mr John Pearson (Materials Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory) Kawtar Hafidi Hafidi (Argonne National Laboratory) Dr Laura Marini (University of California, Berkeley) Dr Raul Hennings-Yeomans (University of California, berkeley) Mr Roger Huang (University of California, Berkeley) Mr S Wagaarachchi (University of California, Berkeley) Prof. Thomas O'Donnell (Department of Physics, Virginia Tech) Mr Tom Polakovic (Drexel University) Dr Valentine Novosad (Materials Science Division,Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory) Vivek Singh (University of California, Berkeley) Volodymyr Yefremenko (Argonne) Whitney Armstrong (Argonne National Laboratory) Yury Kolomensky (UC Berkeley/LBNL) Z.E. Meziani (Argonne National Laboratory)

Presentation materials