ATTENZIONE: Lunedì 15 Luglio, dalle 13:00 alle 15:00 sarà effettuato un intervento di manutenzione su Durante tale fascia oraria il servizio potrà risultare non raggiungibile.

ATTENTION: On Monday 15 July, from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm, maintenance will be carried out on During this time slot, the service may be unreachable.

Sep 13 – 19, 2015
La Biodola, Isola d'Elba
Europe/Rome timezone

Laser-Driven Proton Acceleration at POLARIS with SHG and nm thin Foils

Sep 15, 2015, 3:40 PM
SB1 Sala Bonaparte 1 (Hotel Hermitage)

SB1 Sala Bonaparte 1

Hotel Hermitage

talk WG2 - Ion beams from plasmas WG2 - Ion beams from plasmas


Mr Georg Alexander Becker (University of Jena, Germany)


To investigate laser-driven ion acceleration in the regime of Light-Sail Radiation Pressure Acceleration it is essential to use foils of few nm thickness. Therefore an extremely high temporal intensity contrast is required to avoid destruction of the target by the prepulse. An ion acceleration experiment was performed at the fully diode pumped laser system POLARIS at the Helmholtz-Institute Jena. POLARIS has been developed and improved within the last two decades and was commissioned for experiments in 2012. It has a very high temporal intensity contrast by using an XPW stage in a double CPA setup. However, to use few nm thin diamond-like-carbon or plastic foils a further enhancement of the contrast was necessary. A KDP crystal has been used to generate the second harmonic of the laser at 515 nm wavelength which significantly enhances the ns- and ps-contrast by several orders of magnitude. These pulses were focused on targets with thicknesses in the range between 5 nm and 800 nm. The results showing the influence of different laser polarizations on the maximum proton energies as well as the investigation of the proton beam profile will be presented.

Primary author

Mr Georg Alexander Becker (University of Jena, Germany)


Mr Alexander Kessler (Helmholtz-Institute Jena) Mr Andreas Seidel (University of Jena) Mr Florian Brack (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr Frank Schorcht (Helmholtz-Institute Jena) Dr Hans-Peter Schlenvoigt (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr Hartmut Liebetrau (University of Jena) Dr Hongyong Wang (Helmholtz-Institute Jena) Mr Jan Reisloehner (University of Jena) Mr Jens Polz (University of Jena) Mr Jianhui Bin (University of Munich) Prof. Joerg Schreiber (University of Munich, Max-Planck-Institute of Quantum Optics) Dr Karl Zeil (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr Lennart Bock (University of Jena) Prof. Malte Kaluza (University of Jena, Helmholtz-Institute Jena) Mr Marco Hellwing (University of Jena) Dr Marco Hornung (Helmholtz-Institute Jena) Prof. Matthew Zepf (Queens University Belfast, University of Jena, Helmholtz-Institute Jena) Mr Peter Hilz (University of Munich) Mr Sebastian Keppler (University of Jena) Dr Stephan Kraft (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr Stephan Kuschel (Helmholtz-Institute Jena) Prof. Ulrich Schramm (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.