ATTENZIONE: Lunedì 15 Luglio, dalle 13:00 alle 15:00 sarà effettuato un intervento di manutenzione su Durante tale fascia oraria il servizio potrà risultare non raggiungibile.

ATTENTION: On Monday 15 July, from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm, maintenance will be carried out on During this time slot, the service may be unreachable.

Sep 13 – 19, 2015
La Biodola, Isola d'Elba
Europe/Rome timezone

Multistage laser wakefield acceleration driven by two laser pulses with different focal lengths

Sep 16, 2015, 6:30 PM
SML Sala Maria Luisa (Hotel Hermitage)

SML Sala Maria Luisa

Hotel Hermitage

talk WG1 - Electron beams from plasmas WG1 - Electron beams from plasmas


Dr Nobuhiko Nakanii (Osaka University)


We are developing high-quality electron source (stable, ultrashort, high charge and narrow energy spread) based on multistage LWFA towards practical applications such as ultrafast electron imaging and x-ray free electron laser. The multistage technique using two laser pulses with different focal lengths enables flexible energy control of the electron beam. In this technique, firstly, tightly focused laser pulse produces injector beam via wavebreaking process of the plasma wave. Then the injector beam injects into the linear wakefield excited by the long focused laser pulse. The energy of the injector beam can be modified in the linear wakefield. The electron beam with narrow energy spread can be obtained by phase rotation and/or the high-energy electron beam can be obtained by further acceleration in the linear wakefield. The energy can be controlled by changing the timing between two laser pulses. We have performed the experiment of the two-pulse-driven multistage LWFA and succeeded to generate quasi-monoenergetic electron beams having the energies from a few MeV to hundreds MeV.

Primary author

Dr Nobuhiko Nakanii (Osaka University)


Prof. Alexei Zhidkov (Osaka University) Dr Hideyuki Kotaki (Japan Atomic Energy Agency) Dr Hirotaka Nakamura (Osaka University) Dr Keiichi Sueda (Osaka University) Mr Kenta Iwasa (Osaka University) Mr Koki Osako (Osaka University) Dr Masaki Kando (Japan Atomic Energy Agency) Dr Michiaki Mori (Japan Atomic Energy Agency) Mr Naoki Takeguchi (Osaka University) Dr Naveen Pathak (Osaka University) Prof. Ryosuke Kodama (Osaka University) Dr Shinichi Masuda (Osaka University) Dr Takamitsu Otsuka (Osaka University) Prof. Tomonao HOSOKAI (OSAKA University) Mr Yoshio Mizuta (Osaka University) Dr Zhan Jin (Osaka University)

Presentation materials