ATTENZIONE: Lunedì 15 Luglio, dalle 13:00 alle 15:00 sarà effettuato un intervento di manutenzione su Durante tale fascia oraria il servizio potrà risultare non raggiungibile.

ATTENTION: On Monday 15 July, from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm, maintenance will be carried out on During this time slot, the service may be unreachable.

Sep 13 – 19, 2015
La Biodola, Isola d'Elba
Europe/Rome timezone

Laser Wakefield Acceleration with Multi-Color Pulse Stacks: Designer Electron Beams for Advanced Radiation Sources

Sep 16, 2015, 6:00 PM
SML Sala Maria Luisa (Hotel Hermitage)

SML Sala Maria Luisa

Hotel Hermitage

talk WG1 - Electron beams from plasmas WG1 - Electron beams from plasmas


Dr Serge Kalmykov (University of Nebraska - Lincoln)


Photon engineering [S. Kalmykov et al., New J. Phys. 14, 033025 (2012)] offers new avenues to coherently control electron beam phase space on a femtosecond time scale. It enables generation of high-quality beams at a kHz-scale repetition rate. Reducing the peak pulse power (and thus the average laser power) is the key to effectively exercise such control. A stepwise negative chirp, synthesized by incoherently stacking collinear sub-Joule pulses from conventional CPA, affords a micron-scale bandwidth. It is sufficient to prevent rapid compression of the pulse into an optical shock, while delaying electron dephasing. This extends electron energy far beyond the limits suggested by accepted scalings (beyond 1 GeV in a 3 mm plasma), without compromising beam quality [S. Kalmykov et al., Phys. Plasmas 22, 056701 (2015) - Invited Paper at 56th Annual Meeting of the APS Division of Plasma Physics]. In addition, acceleration with a stacked pulse in a channel favorably modifies electron beam on a femtosecond time scale, controllably producing synchronized sequences of 100 kA-scale, quasi-monoenergetic bunches. These comb-like, designer GeV electron beams are ideal drivers of polychromatic, tunable inverse Compton gamma-ray sources [S. Kalmykov et al., AIP Proc. (2015), to appear].

Primary author

Dr Serge Kalmykov (University of Nebraska - Lincoln)


Dr Agustin Lifschitz (LOA, ENSTA-CNRS-Ecole Polytechnique) Prof. Bradley Shadwick (University of Nebraska - Lincoln) Dr Isaac Ghebregziabher (Penn State) Dr Remi Lehe (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Dr Xavier Davoine (CEA DAM DIF)

Presentation materials