ATTENZIONE: Lunedì 15 Luglio, dalle 13:00 alle 15:00 sarà effettuato un intervento di manutenzione su Durante tale fascia oraria il servizio potrà risultare non raggiungibile.

ATTENTION: On Monday 15 July, from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm, maintenance will be carried out on During this time slot, the service may be unreachable.

Sep 13 – 19, 2015
La Biodola, Isola d'Elba
Europe/Rome timezone

Transport and control of LWFA electron beam towards the FEL amplification at COXINEL

Sep 14, 2015, 6:00 PM
15' + 5' discussion (La Biodola, Isola d'Elba)

15' + 5' discussion

La Biodola, Isola d'Elba

<a target="_blank" href=>Hotel Hermitage</a>
talk WG4 - Application of compact and high-gradient accelerators/Advanced beam manipulation and control WG4 - Application of compact and high-gradient accelerators/Advanced beam manipulation and control


Dr Martin Khojoyan (Synchrotron SOLEIL)


COXINEL [1] is a project within the frame of ERC advanced grand at synchrotron SOLEIL in collaboration with the Laboratory of Optical Applications (LOA) in France. It aims at demonstrating Free Electron Laser (FEL) amplification using Laser Wakefield Acceleration (LWFA) towards more compact FEL facility. The transport and the control of the electron bunches created by the LFWA is a challenging task due to the strong initial beam divergence and the large energy spread. A specific beam manipulation scheme was recently proposed for the COXINEL setup, which takes benefit from the intrinsically large chromatic emittance of such beams [2]. This submission summarizes the benchmarking of two different tracking codes (including nonlinear dynamics and collective effects) for the COXINEL setup: one which was developed at the synchrotron SOLEIL and ASTRA [3]. A detailed description of the beam transport and the obtained results will be presented and discussed. [1] M.E. Couprie et al., Proc. of IPAC 2014, THPRO003, Dresden, Germany. [2] A. Loulergue et al., New J. Phys. (2015), 023028. [3] K. Floettmann, ASTRA,

Primary author

Dr Martin Khojoyan (Synchrotron SOLEIL)


Dr Alexandre Loulergue (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Dr Fabien Briquez (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mr Fabrice Marteau (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Mrs Geetanjali Sharma (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Dr Marie Labat (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Dr Marie-Emmanuelle Couprie (Synchrotron SOLEIL) Dr Olivier Marcouillé (Synchrotron SOLEIL)

Presentation materials