Jul 6 – 13, 2022
Bologna, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

Short and intermediate distance HVP contributions to muon g-2: SM (lattice) prediction versus e+e- annihilation data

Jul 8, 2022, 9:30 AM
Room 1 (Europa Auditorium)

Room 1 (Europa Auditorium)

Parallel Talk Strong interactions and Hadron Physics Strong interactions and Hadron Physics


Prof. Roberto Frezzotti (University and INFN of Roma Tor Vergata)


We present new lattice results of the ETM Collaboration, obtained from extensive simulations of lattice QCD with dynamical up, down, strange and charm quarks at physical mass values, different volumes and lattice spacings, concerning the SM prediction for the so-called intermediate window (W) and short-distance (SD) contributions to the leading order hadronic vacuum polarization (LOHVP) term of the muon anomalous magnetic moment, $a_\mu$. Results for $a_{\mu,LOHVP}^W$ and $a_{\mu,LOHVP}^{SD}$, besides representing a step forward to a complete lattice computation of $a_{\mu,LOHVP}$ and a useful benchmark among lattice groups, are compared here to their dispersive counterparts based on experimental data for $e^+e^-$ into hadrons. The comparison confirms the tension in $a_{\mu,LOHVP}^W$, already noted in 2020 by the BMW Collaboration, while showing no tension in $a_{\mu,LOHVP}^{SD}$.

In-person participation Yes

Primary authors

Dr Bartosz Kostrzewa (University of Bonn, High Performance Computing and Analytics Lab) Prof. Carsten Urbach (University of Bonn, HISKP) Prof. Constantia Alexandrou (University of Cyprus and The Cyprus Institute) Dr Francesco Sanfilippo (INFN - Sezione di RomaTre) Dr Giuseppe Gagliardi (INFN - Sezione di RomaTre ) Dr Jacob Finkenrath (The Cyprus Institute) Dr Karl Jansen (NIC, DESY) Dr Kyriakos Hadjiyiannakou (University of Cyprus and The Cyprus Institute) Dr Marco Garofalo (University of Bonn, HISKP) Dr Marcus Petschlies (University of Bonn, HISKP) Dr Petros Dimopoulos (University of Parma and INFN-Parma) Prof. Roberto Frezzotti (University and INFN of Roma Tor Vergata) Dr Silvano Simula (INFN - Sezione di RomaTre) Dr Simone Bacchio (The Cyprus Institute) Prof. Urs Wenger (University of Bern, Institute for Theoretical Physics) Prof. Vittorio Lubicz (University and INFN RomaTre)

Presentation materials