8-12 June 2020
Europe/Rome timezone

Great Lessons from Exact techniques and Beyond

Astronomical clock


Conference postponed

In view of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the conference is postponed to a date to be determined. Registrations are suspended for the time being.



Exact techniques are invaluable tools to advance our understanding of physical phenomena. They have played a crucial role in the development of theoretical physics since its very inception, and continue to unveil deeper and deeper mathematical and physical structures thereof. This conference will review major latest advances obtained by means of exact techniques, with emphasis on

- Exact results in string and quantum field theory
- Exact results in AdS/CFT
- Integrable models, their deformations and applications
- Two- and higher-dimensional CFTs and SCFTs
- Bootstrap approaches to CFT and QFT
- Scattering amplitudes

Given the broad and inter-disciplinary scope of the meeting, speakers will strive to be particularly pedagogical. The program will also include ample time for discussions.


Speakers include:

  • Gleb Arutyunov (Hamburg University)
  • Igor Bandos (Basque Country University & IKERBASQUE)
  • Alexandre Belin (CERN)
  • Lorenzo Bianchi (Queen Mary University London)
  • Stefano Bolognesi (Pisa University)
  • Olalla Castro-Alvaredo (City, University of London)
  • Jacopo de Nardis (University of Ghent)
  • Sergey Frolov (Trinity College Dublin)
  • Grisha Korchemsky (CEA Saclay)
  • Ivan Kostov (CEA Saclay)
  • Charlotte Kristjansen (Niels Bohr Institute)
  • Andrei Marshakov (Skoltech)
  • Pierpaolo Mastrolia (Padova University & INFN PD)
  • Thomas G. Mertens (Ghent University)
  • Sara Pasquetti (Milano Bicocca University)
  • Balázs Pozsgay (Eotvos University & Technical University Budapest)
  • Fiona Seibold (ETH Zurich)
  • Amit Sever (CERN)
  • Roberto Tateo (Torino University)
  • Alessandro Torrielli (University of Surrey)
  • Congkao Wen (Queen Mary University London)


IMPORTANT: beware of hotel scams!

We noted that some "companies" look up the names of speakers and participants of upcoming conferences, and call them on their office phones (or contact via email) offering to arrange their accommodation "on behalf of the organisers". They typically request your credit card number or ask for a bank transfer. If someone contacts you with such a request claiming to act on behalf of the organisers, they are lying and attempting to scam you. In case of doubts please contact Organizers on their personal email addresses before taking any action.






This meeting is supported by ETH Zurich through the Career Seed grant No. SEED-23 19-1, by the German Research Foundation (DFG) via the Emmy Noether program “Exact Results in Extended Holography", by the Royal Society and Science Foundation Ireland, by the Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare (INFN) and by the University of Padova.

Aula Ippolito Nievo
Via VIII Febbraio n. 2 35122 Padova

Organizing Committee:
Riccardo Borsato (Universidade de Santiago de Compostela)
Marius de Leeuw (Trinity College, Dublin)
Kurt Lechner (Uni PD & INFN PD)
Pieralberto Marchetti (Uni PD & INFN PD)
Marco Matone (Uni PD & INFN PD)
Alessandro Sfondrini (ETH Zurich)
Dmitri Sorokin (INFN, Sezione di Padova)
Stijn van Tongeren (Humboldt-Universitaet zu Berlin)
Roberto Volpato (Uni PD & INFN PD)
Paola Zenere (Uni PD) – Conference Secretary

Scientific Advisory Committee:
Giulio Bonelli (SISSA, Trieste & INFN TS)
Davide Fioravanti (INFN, Sezione di Bologna)
Sergey Frolov (Trinity College, Dublin)
Luca Griguolo (Uni Parma & INFN PR)
Igor Klebanov (Princeton U.)
Charlotte Kristjansen (Niels Bohr Inst., Copenhagen)
Juan Maldacena (IAS, Princeton)
Giuseppe Mussardo (SISSA, Trieste & INFN TS)
Silvia Penati (Uni Milano Bicocca & INFN MIB)
Valentina Giangreco Puletti (Uni Iceland)
Emery Sokatchev (LAPTH, Annecy)
Matthias Staudacher (Humboldt-Universitaet zu Berlin)
Roberto Tateo (Uni Torino & INFN TO)
Arkady Tseytlin (Imperial College, London)