Jul 22 – 26, 2019
Europe/Rome timezone

Towards Dark Matter Searches with the Micro-X Sounding Rocket

Jul 25, 2019, 5:45 PM
1h 15m
Piazza Città di Lombardia (Milano)

Piazza Città di Lombardia


Piazza Città di Lombardia, 1, 20124 Milano MI
Poster Low Temperature Detector Applications Poster session


Antonia Hubbard (Northwestern University)


Micro-X is projected to set world-leading limits in indirect galactic dark matter searches in a single sounding rocket flight. Micro-X's region of interest (0.5-5 keV) is of particular interest following the reported observation of an anomalous line by the X-ray satellites in this band. Following the second Micro-X flight in 2019, which will observe the Cassiopeia A supernova remnant, the instrument will be modified to achieve a large field of view for the dark matter search. To this end, a new TES array will be made that is optimized for this bandpass, along with a new superconducting magnetic shield that will accommodate the increased field of view. Additional modifications are planned outside of the cryostat. We present the sensitivity of the instrument for a dark matter search, and the hardware modifications that will be made to optimize the instrument.

Student (Ph.D., M.Sc. or B.Sc.) N
Less than 5 years of experience since completion of Ph.D Y

Primary authors

Antonia Hubbard (Northwestern University) Megan Eckart (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) Dr Joseph S. Adams (NASA-GSFC / UMBC) Robert Baker Dr Simon, R. Bandler (NASA-GSFC) Noemie Bastidon (Northwestern University) Dr M.E. Danowski (NASA Wallops Flight Facility Wallops Island USA) Dr William Doriese (National Institute of Standards and Technology) Prof. E. Figueroa-Feliciano (Northwestern University) David Goldfinger Dr S.N.T. Heine (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) Gene Hilton (NIST-Boulder) Dr Richard, L Kelley (NASA-GSFC) Dr Caroline Kilbourne (NASA-GSFC) Renee Manzagol-Harwood (Northwestern University) Dr D. McCammon (University of Wisconsin) Dr T. Okajima (NASA Goddard Space Flight Center) Dr Frederick, S. Porter (NASA-GSFC) Carl Reintsema (National Institute of Standards and Technology) Dr P. Serlemitsos (NASA Goddard Space Flight Center) Stephen Smith (NASA GSFC / UMBC) Dr P. Wikus (Bruker BioSpin AG)

Presentation materials