Jul 22 – 26, 2019
Europe/Rome timezone

Quantum Sensors for Quantum Coherent Dark Matter Detectors

Jul 25, 2019, 5:45 PM
1h 15m
Piazza Città di Lombardia (Milano)

Piazza Città di Lombardia


Piazza Città di Lombardia, 1, 20124 Milano MI
Poster Low Temperature Detector for quantum technologies and other frontiers Poster session


Stephen Kuenstner (Stanford University)


Cryogenic lumped-element resonators are near-optimal detectors of the electromagnetic interactions of ultralight (sub-μeV), wavelike dark matter candidates, including axions and hidden photons. Operated as classical detectors, they have sensitivity to well motivated regions of dark matter parameter space, including the QCD axion band at masses from 10neV to 1 μeV. Quantum coherent measurement techniques can dramatically improve their sensitivity and allow them to probe the QCD axions at lower masses, motivating the development of quantum sensors that operate in the appropriate frequency range (below ~300MHz). The Radio Frequency Quantum Upconverter (RQU) is a quantum sensor capable of implementing a variety of quantum coherent measurement techniques in this frequency range, including two-mode squeezing, sideband cooling, and backaction evasion. I will describe the implementation of an RQU with Josephson junctions and superconducting microwave circuit elements and quantum coherent measurement protocols appropriate for reading out a resonant dark matter detector with an RQU.

Student (Ph.D., M.Sc. or B.Sc.) Y
Less than 5 years of experience since completion of Ph.D Y

Primary authors

Stephen Kuenstner (Stanford University) Andrew Ames (Stanford University) Mr Samuel Carman (Stanford University) Mr Saptarshi Chaudhuri (Stanford University) Dr Hsiao-Mei Cho (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Mr Carl Dawson (Stanford University) Mr Alex Droster (UC Berkeley) C. T. FitzGerald Prof. Peter Graham (Stanford University) Rachel Gruenke (Stanford University) Dr Alexander Leder (UC Berkeley) Dale Li (SLAC) Dr Arran Phipps (Stanford University) Surjeet Rajendran (UC Berkeley) Charles Titus (Stanford University) Prof. Betty A. Young (Santa Clara University) Cyndia Yu (Stanford University) Kent Irwin (Stanford) Karl van Bibber (UC Berkeley)

Presentation materials