Jul 22 – 26, 2019
Europe/Rome timezone

Characterization of TES Bolometers for the POLARBEAR-2B Receiver

Jul 25, 2019, 5:45 PM
1h 15m
Piazza Città di Lombardia (Milano)

Piazza Città di Lombardia


Piazza Città di Lombardia, 1, 20124 Milano MI
Poster Detector readout, signal processing, and related technologies Poster session


Mr Tucker Elleflot (University of San Diego California)


The Simons Array (SA) is a Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB) polarization experiment comprised of three identical telescopes located in the Atacama Desert of northern Chile. SA was designed to measure mid- to large-scale CMB anisotropies in order to constrain the tensor-to-scalar ratio ($\sigma(r=0.1)=6\times10^{-3}$) and the sum of the neutrino masses ($\sigma(\sum m_\nu) = 40$ meV). Each SA telescope contains a cryogenic receiver with 7,588 transition edge sensor (TES) bolometers cooled to 0.3 K and read out using digital frequency division (dfMux) 40x multiplexing. Here we report characterization of the TES wafers that will be fielded in the second SA receiver, POLARBEAR-2B, in the summer of 2019. These measurements were performed in the POLARBEAR-2B receiver in lab. In particular, we focus on the effects of parasitic impedance on TES performance. We have developed a model that describes an increase in the effective time constant and magnitude of responsivity due to parasitic impedance and we show good agreement between model and data.

Student (Ph.D., M.Sc. or B.Sc.) Y
Less than 5 years of experience since completion of Ph.D Y

Primary author

Mr Tucker Elleflot (University of San Diego California)


Prof. Adrian T. Lee (University of California, Berkeley) Aritoki Suzuki (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) Benjamin Westbrook (1985) Prof. Brian Keating (University of California San Diego) Mr Calvin Tsai (University of California San Diego) Mr Charles Hill (University of California Berkeley) Dr Christopher Raum (University of California, Berkeley) Daisuke Kaneko (Kavli IPMU) Prof. Darcy Barron (University of New Mexico) Ms Jen Ito (University of California San Diego) Mr Joe Seibert (University of California San Diego) Mr John Groh (University of California Berkeley) Kam Arnold (University of California, San Diego) Dr Kevin Crowley (University of California Berkeley) Ms Lindsay Ng Lowry Mr Logan Howe (University of California San Diego) Masashi Hazumi (KEK, Tsukuba) Prof. Masaya Hasegawa (KEK, Tsukuba) Prof. Matt Dobbs (McGill University) Mr Max Silva-Feaver (University of California San Diego) Oliver Jeong (UC Berkeley) Dr Praween Siritanasak (University of California San Diego) Dr Satoru Takakura (KEK, Tsukuba) Ms Sayuri Takatori (KEK, Tsukuba)

Presentation materials