26-30 June 2011
Centro Culturale Altinate, Padova, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

SAGE spectrometer status and first results

27 Jun 2011, 10:25
Sala Polivalente (Centro Culturale Altinate, Padova, Italy)

Sala Polivalente

Centro Culturale Altinate, Padova, Italy

Via Altinate 71 Padova Italy


Philippos Papadakis (University of Liverpool)


In-beam γ-ray and electron spectrometers have long been used as tools to probe the structure of atomic nuclei. However, if used separately they can provide only partial information of the nuclear de-excitation processes and consequently of nuclear structure. This becomes increasingly problematic in heavy nuclei, especially at low transition energies and high multipolarities, where internal conversion competes strongly with γ-ray emission. The SAGE spectrometer [1] allows efficient cross-coincidence measurements between γ-rays and conversion electrons by combining the JUROGAM II germanium detector array with a highly segmented silicon detector and a solenoid electron transfer system. It employs digital front-end electronics and is coupled with the RITU gas-filled recoil separator and the GREAT focal-plane spectrometer for Recoil-Decay Tagging studies. SAGE is primarily employed in the study of superheavy nuclei in the quest of finding the “Island of Stability” and the next closed spherical shells. Experiments studying shape coexistence in the light lead region have also been performed. The SAGE spectrometer has been successfully commissioned in the University of Jyväskylä in 2010. The setup will be described and results from the first in-beam measurements showing the performance of the spectrometer will be presented. 1. P. Papadakis et al., AIP Conf. Proc., 1090(2009) 14

Primary author

Philippos Papadakis (University of Liverpool)


Mr Daniel Cox (University of Liverpool) Mr Dave Seddon (University of Liverpool) Mr Dave Wells (University of Liverpool) Mr Edward Parr (University of Liverpool) Mr Ian Lazarus (STFC Daresbury Laboratory) Ms Janet Sampson (University of Liverpool) Dr Janne Pakarinen (CERN-ISOLDE) Mr Jim Thornhill (University of Liverpool) Dr John Cresswell (University of Liverpool) Prof. John Simpson (STFC Daresbury Laboratory) Mr Juha Sorri (University of Jyvaskyla) Dr Karl Hauschild (University of Jyvaskyla) Dr Mikael Sandzelius (University of Jyvaskyla) Dr Panu Rahkila (University of Jyvaskyla) Mr Patrick Coleman-Smith (STFC Daresbury Laboratory) Prof. Paul Greenlees (University of Jyvaskyla) Mr Pauli Peura (University of Jyvaskyla) Prof. Peter Butler (University of Liverpool) Dr Peter Jones (University of Jyvaskyla) Prof. Rauno Julin (University of Jyvaskyla) Prof. Robert Page (University of Liverpool) Prof. Rolf-Dietmar Herzberg (Univdrsity of Liverpool) Mr Simon Letts (STFC Daresbury Laboratory) Mr Victor Pucknell (STFC Daresbury Laboratory)

Presentation Materials