Third Pre-PAC Workshop for AGATA@LNL and Zero-Degree Campaign Workshop



Viale dell'Università, 2, 35020 Legnaro PD
Jose' Javier Valiente Dobon (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare)

We are pleased to announce the first Zero-Degree Campaign workshop and the third Pre-PAC Workshop for the AGATA physics campaign at LNL. The Zero-Degree Campaign Workshop will take place on April 19th at LNL and will be followed by the third Pre-PAC Workshop on April 20-21st, 2023.


The forthcoming LNL PAC meeting is scheduled for July 10-12th, 2023, and will evaluate experiments to be performed in the second half of 2023. During this period, only beams from the TANDEM accelerator will be available at LNL, and AGATA is expected to consist of a minimum of 15 triple clusters (1pi solid angle coverage).


The aim of the Pre-PAC Workshop is to assist the spokespersons in putting the strongest cases for their proposals forward through a discussion of the physics to be investigated, and to assess the feasibility of the proposed experiments. This includes all experiments planning to use stable beams from the TANDEM accelerator for studies involving AGATA in a possible combination with PRISMA and/or ancillary detectors that are compatible with PRISMA. Any new projects will have to be presented at this workshop before being submitted to the LNL PAC. In most cases, we will not expect presentations of the projects that have already been discussed at the previous Pre-PAC Workshops. If, however, a new project shows a considerable overlap with a previously discussed project of a different group, both parties will be informed and encouraged to participate in the upcoming Workshop.


The Pre-PAC Workshop will be preceded by a one-day meeting devoted to the discussion of a future campaign involving AGATA at zero degrees held on April 19th, 2023.


For this campaign, we expect that beams from the entire TANDEM-ALPI-PIAVE complex will be available. In the coming weeks, we will also provide preliminary information about Day-One SPES beams, which could be used in experiments with AGATA at zero degrees.


Both meetings are planned to be held in-person at LNL.


You are welcome to submit Letters of Intent (LoIs) for both above-mentioned AGATA setups (AGATA in configuration with PRISMA and TANDEM beams and AGATA at Zero Degrees with TANDEM-ALPI-PIAVE and SPES Day-One beams) with a deadline of April 12th, 2023. They are expected to include, in a pdf file, title, short abstract with a description of the physics case and the experimental setup. For the LoIs submitted to the Pre-PAC, also information on beam (energy, intensity), target(s), and the justified request of beam time are required.


All spokespersons will be invited to present their proposals at the Workshops. 


We warmly recommend the LoI spokespersons to contact as soon as possible the experts of the complementary equipment they intend to use. These contact persons are:


PRISMA : L. Corradi, F. Galtarossa

GAL-TRACE : S. Capra

EUCLIDES:  J. Pellumaj, D. Brugnara

SPIDER: N. Marchini, M. Balogh

DANTE: K. Rezynkina, J. Benito

Gamma-ray scintillators: S. Pigliapoco, A. Giaz

Plunger: I. Zanon


The next PAC meeting will be held at LNL from the 10th to the 12th of July 2023. The deadline for the submission of the proposals will be one month before.

  • Adam Maj
  • Adriana Nannini
  • Agnese Giaz
  • Alain Goasduff
  • Andrea Gottardo
  • Andres Gadea
  • Aysegul Ertoprak
  • Bellona Bles
  • Benito Gongora Servin
  • Bénédicte Million
  • Claes Fahlander
  • Conor Sullivan
  • Corina Andreoiu
  • Costel Marian Petrache
  • Damiano Stramaccioni
  • Daniel José Marín Lámbarri
  • Daniele Brugnara
  • Daniele Mengoni
  • Denise Piatti
  • Didier Beaumel
  • Efraín Chávez Lomelí
  • Elia Pilotto
  • Emmanuel Clement
  • Enrico Fagotti
  • Enrico Fioretto
  • Fabiana Gramegna
  • Filippo Angelini
  • Franco Camera
  • Franco Galtarossa
  • Francois Didierjean
  • Fraser Holloway
  • Giacomo Corbari
  • Giacomo de Angelis
  • Gilbert DUCHENE
  • Gilles de FRANCE
  • Giorgia Pasqualato
  • Giovanna Benzoni
  • Giulia Ciconali
  • Giuseppe Andreetta
  • guangxin zhang
  • Irene Zanon
  • Ismael Martel
  • Jaime Benito Garcia
  • Jakub Skowronski
  • Jelena Bardak
  • Jeongsu Ha
  • Jose' Javier Valiente Dobon
  • Julgen Pellumaj
  • Kseniia Rezynkina
  • Lorenzo Corradi
  • Luca Zago
  • Lukasz Iskra
  • Magda Zielinska
  • Marcin Palacz
  • Marco Mazzocco
  • Marco Rocchini
  • Marta Polettini
  • Matus Balogh
  • Matúš Sedlák
  • Md Sazedur Rahaman Laskar
  • Michal Lukasz Ciemala
  • Naomi Marchini
  • Oliver Wieland
  • Pablo Antonio Aguilera Jorquera
  • Pavlos Koseoglou
  • Peter Reiter
  • Piotr Bednarczyk
  • Rafael Escudeiro
  • Raquel Nicolas del Alamo
  • Roberto Menegazzo
  • Rosa Maria Perez Vidal
  • Ryo Taniuchi
  • Sara Carollo
  • Sara Pigliapoco
  • Sergio Brambilla
  • Sidong Chen
  • Silvia Leoni
  • Silvia M. Lenzi
  • Simone Bottoni
  • Tommaso Marchi
  • Zhiqiang Chen
  • Ángel-Miguel Sánchez-Benítez