26-30 June 2011
Centro Culturale Altinate, Padova, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

The neutron-gamma discrimination using <sup>252</sup>Cf source with four AGATA triple clusters

30 Jun 2011, 17:00
Sala Polivalente (Centro Culturale Altinate, Padova, Italy)

Sala Polivalente

Centro Culturale Altinate, Padova, Italy

Via Altinate 71 Padova Italy


Menekse Senyigit (Ankara University)


A test experiment was performed at LNL (Padova) with four AGATA Triple cluster (ATC) detectors and a 60 kBq 252Cf source placed at a distance of about 50 cm from the ATC:s. Gamma rays from the spontaneous fission decays were measured by 16 HELENA BaF2 detectors which were used for hardware triggering and as a time reference for the time-of-flight (TOF) measurement. The aim of the experiment was to investigate the possibilities of discriminating neutrons and gamma rays in AGATA, for example by differences in TOF or pulse shapes, as well as to study the effect of neutrons on gamma-ray tracking. The preliminary results show that the neutron background can be suppressed by tracking, in agreement with our earlier simulation results. The neutron background may become a serious problem in future experiments with neutron-rich radioactive ion beams and in experiments where low background in the cleanness of the gamma-ray spectra is of utmost importance. Preliminary results from the analysis of the data obtained in the experiment will be presented.

Primary authors

Ayse Atac (Ankara University) Menekse Senyigit (Ankara University) Serkan Akkoyun (Cumhuriyet University) ayse Kaskas (Ankara University)


Andrea Gottardo (INFN,Laboratori Nazionali di Legnaro,Padova) Daniele Mengoni (University of West Scotland) Dino Bazaccco (Dipartimento di Fisica e INFN Padova) Eda Sahin (LNL-INFN, Padova) Enrico Farnea (Dipartimento di Fisica e INFN Padova) Francesco Recchia (Dipartimento di Fisica e INFN Padova) Franco Camera (Dipartimento di Fisica e INFN Milano) J. J. Valiente Dobon (LNL-INFN, Padova) Joa Ljungvall (CNRS, IN2P3, CSNSM, F-91405 Orsay) Johan Nyberg (Uppsala University) Luna Pellegri (Dipartimento di Fisica e INFN Milano) Marcin Palacz (Heavy Ion Laboratory, University of Warsaw) Million Benedicte (Dipartimento di Fisica e INFN Milano) Par-Anders Soderstrom (Uppsala University) Ryan Kempley (University of Surrey) Sergio Brambilla (Dipartimento di Fisica e INFN Milano) Stefano Riboldi (Dipartimento di Fisica e INFN Milano)

Presentation Materials