9-14 September 2018
University of Ferrara
Europe/Rome timezone

Search for a permanent electric dipole moment of 129Xe

11 Sep 2018, 15:50
A1 (Polo degli Adelardi - Via Adelardi, 33)


Polo degli Adelardi - Via Adelardi, 33

Via Adelardi, 33
Parallel Sessions Fundamental Symmetries and Spin Physics Beyond the Standard Model Fundamental Symmetries and Spin Physics Beyond the Standard Model


Dr Stefan Zimmer (University of Heidelberg)


In this talk we report on the results of the experimental search for a permanent electric dipole moment of 129Xe (Xe-EDM) performed by the MIXed-collaboration. Our approach is to detect the free spin precession of hyperpolarized 129Xe nuclear spins and search for frequency changes correlated with the direction of an applied electric field. To eliminate frequency changes caused by magnetic field drifts we use co-magnetometry by adding hyperpolarized 3He to the measurement volume. We are able to measure frequency shifts with a statistical sensitivity of δω ~ 6x10^-10 rad/s within one day. To achieve this accuracy, numerous experimental challenges had to be mastered. For example, the development of a remarkably homogeneous magnetic field was an important step in order to obtain long spin coherence times of several hours and to achieve a high signal-to-noise ratio. The construction of the experimental setup and the optimization of the measurement procedures, along with systematic checks will be discussed in this presentation. In a first proof of principle measurement we were already able to lower the present upper limit of the Xe-EDM by a factor of seven to |d(Xe)| < 1.0x10^-27 ecm (95% CL). The continuous development of the experimental conditions and the operating procedures will allow us to significantly improve our present sensitivity limits.

Primary author

Dr Stefan Zimmer (University of Heidelberg)


Prof. Andreas Offenhäusser (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Dr Benjamin Niederländer (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Dr Fabian Allmendinger (University of Heidelberg) Dr Hans-Joachim Krause (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Dr Ilhan Engin (Forschungszentrum Jülich) Prof. Klaus Jungmann (University of Groningen) Dr Lorenz Willmann (University of Groningen) Dr Maricel Repetto (University of Mainz) Mr Olivier Grasdijk (University of Groningen) Dr Sergei Karpuk (University of Mainz) Prof. Ulrich Schmidt (University of Heidelberg) Prof. Werner Heil (University of Mainz)

Presentation Materials