First Announcement

Nuclear Structure Physics with Advanced Gamma-Detector Arrays Padova, June 10–12, 2013, Italy

We are pleased to announce that the Symposium "Nuclear Structure Physics with Advanced Gamma–Detector Arrays (NSP13)" will be held June 10–12, 2013 in Padova. The symposium marks 20 years from the first successful campaigns with the gamma–ray spectrometer GASP and 10 years from the previous conference on "Nuclear Structure Physics with large gamma arrays" held in Legnaro–Padova. NSP13 is organized by INFN Padova, Laboratori Nazionali di Legnaro and the Department of Physics and Astronomy of the University of Padova.

The focus of the symposium will be on the latest experimental results, theoretical challenges and the perspectives of nuclear structure physics with the modern gamma–ray Ge detectors, including the large gamma–ray detectors with AC shields and the most recent tracking arrays such as the AGATA demonstrator and GRETINA. Also the development of the many associated complementary detectors for gamma rays, neutrons, light and heavy-ions will be discussed.

The program will consist of oral presentations from invited speakers and selected contributions from submitted abstracts.

The symposium is organized as a satellite workshop on Nuclear Structure Physics of the 25th International Nuclear Physics Conference (INPC2013) to be held June 2–7, 2013 in Firenze, see website at <u>http://www.inpc2013.it/</u>.

More detailed information will be soon available on the symposium website http://nsp13.pd.infn.it/.

Looking forward to seeing you in Padova.

Calin A. Ur on behalf of the Local Organizing Committee

International Advisory Committee

Angela Bracco (Milano) Bo Cederwall (Stockholm) Alexandra Gade (MSU) Andres Gadea (Valencia) Francesco Iachello (Yale) Rauno Julin (Jyväskylä) Reiner Kruecken (UBC) Augusto O. Macchiavelli (LBNL) Nicolae M. Marginean (Bucharest) Nilberto H. Medina (Sao Paulo) Frederic Nowacki (Strasbourg) Peter Reiter (Köln) Hiroyoshi Sakurai (RIKEN) Olivier Sorlin (Caen) Robert Wadsworth (York)

Local Organizing Committee

Calin A. Ur (Padova) (chair) Giacomo de Angelis (Legnaro) Dino Bazzacco (Padova) Enrico Farnea (Padova) Silvia M. Lenzi (Padova) Santo Lunardi (Padova) Roberto Menegazzo (Padova) Daniele Mengoni (Padova) Daniel R. Napoli (Legnaro) Jose Javier Valiente Dobon (Legnaro)

Secretariat

Annarosa Spalla (Padova) Paola Zenere (Padova)