10-12 June 2013
Palazzo del Bo', Padova, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone
<i>Presentations Available Online</i>

Prompt gamma ray-spectroscopy of N=50 fission fragments

Not scheduled
Archivio Antico and Aula Nievo (Palazzo del Bo', Padova, Italy)

Archivio Antico and Aula Nievo

Palazzo del Bo', Padova, Italy

Palazzo del Bo' via VIII Febbraio 2 PADOVA


Ms FLORIANE DROUET (LPSC (Laboratoire Physique Subatomique et de Cosmologie))


Studies in the region around 78Ni are essential to test the interactions used in shell-model calculations to see if any new physics manifests itself far from stability. It's necessary to investigate the structure of nuclei in the A=80-90 regions via prompt gamma-ray spectroscopy, following the proton induced fission of thick 238U target, using the Jurogam II array located in Jyvaskyla in Finland. The aim of this part of experiment is to investigate particle-particle nuclei outside the presumed doubly magic nucleus 78Ni, to see if can be used as an inert core and to gain information on single-particle energies which are poorly known. The new results obtained in three nuclei located around the N=50 gap shell: 84Se, 83As and 88Br will be reported. To assign spin and parity values, a systematic study of N=50 isotones and shell-model calculations have been performed. Some interactions are in agreement with experimental results for yrast states at low spin. At higher energy particle-hole core excitations appear and these are outside the valence space used. Thus, more sophisticated interactions are required.

Primary author

Ms FLORIANE DROUET (LPSC (Laboratoire Physique Subatomique et de Cosmologie))


Mr Andrej HERZAN (JYFL) Dr Araceli Lopez-Martens (CSNSM/JYFL) Dr Aurélie Vancraeyenest (Laboratoire de Physique Subatomique et de Cosmologie) Dr Catherine Scholey (JYFL) Dr Christophe Sage (LPSC) Dr Gabriela Thiamova (LPSC) Dr Gary Simpson (LPSC) Dr Grégoire Kessedjian (LPSC) Mr Guillaume GEY (LPSC) Dr Jan Saren (JYFL) Dr Juha Uusitalo (JYFL) Dr Karl Hauschild (CSNSM/JYFL) Dr Mikael SANDZELIUS (JYFL) Prof. Mourad Ramdhane (LPSC) Mr Panu RUOTSALAINEN (JYFL) Dr Panu Rahkila (JYFL) Prof. Paul Greenlees (JYFL) Mr Pauli Peura (JYFL) Dr Pete Jones (University of Jyväskylä) Prof. Rauno Julin (Department of Physics, University of Jyväskylä) Dr Sakari Juutinen (JYFL) Dr Sami RINTA-ANTILA (JYFL) Dr Steffen Ketelhut (Department of Physics, University of Jyväskylä) Dr Tomasz Malkiewicz (LPSC/CSC) Dr Tuomas Grahn (University of Jyväskylä) Mrs Ulrika Jakobsson (JYFL) Dr juha Sorri (JYFL)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.