Jun 10 – 12, 2013
Palazzo del Bo', Padova, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone
<i>Presentations Available Online</i>

Evolution of Collectivity in the Vicinity of Pb-208

Jun 10, 2013, 3:20 PM
Archivio Antico and Aula Nievo (Palazzo del Bo', Padova, Italia)

Archivio Antico and Aula Nievo

Palazzo del Bo', Padova, Italia

Oral Session 3


Dr Luis Sarmiento (Lund University)


A systematic experimental programme has been started to derive the evolution of quadrupole collectivity near the heaviest stable doubly-magic nucleus Pb-208. Here, B(E2;0+ -> 2+)-values are being measured via relativistic Coulomb excitation. Despite the fact that the energy, E(2+), and strengths, B(E2;0+ -> 2+), of the first 2+ state in even-even nuclei is one of the key quantities in nuclear structure physics, surprisingly little is known about the latter in the direct neighbourhood of the heaviest stable doubly-magic nucleus Pb-208. In October 2012 an experiment was conducted within the PRESPEC-AGATA campaign at the UNILAC-SIS accelerator complex at the GSI Helmholtzcentre for Heavy-Ion Research in Darmstadt, Germany. Following the fragmentation of a 1 AGeV Pb-208 primary beam, heavy Pb, Hg, and Pt secondary beams were prepared by the GSI Fragment Separator and focused onto a gold target foil. Gamma-rays were measured by AGATA and HECTOR, and the outgoing ions were discriminated by the LYCCA detector system. Results from the ongoing data analysis will be presented and compared to contemporary nuclear structure model calculations.

Primary author

Dr Luis Sarmiento (Lund University)


A. Blazhev (Universitat zu Koln) A. Wendt (Universität zu Köln) Andrea Gottardo (LNL) Dr Andrea Jungclaus (IEM CSIC, Madrid) Dr Andres F. Gadea Raga (IFIC CSIC-University of Valencia) Mr Angel Givechev (TU Darmtstadt) C. Lisarazo (GSI Darmstadt) Mr Christian Stahl (TU Darmtstadt) Mr Christopher Bauer (TU Darmtstadt) Prof. Claes Fahlander (Lund University) Damian Ralet (GSI Darmstadt) Dino Bazzacco (INFN Padova) Prof. Dirk Rudolph (Lund University) E. Gregor (GSI Darmstadt) E. Wilson (University of Surrey) Edana Merchan (GSI Darmstadt) Dr Frederic Ameil (GSI Darmstadt) Giulia Guastalla (GSI Darmstadt) Dr Hans-Juergen Wollersheim (GSI Darmstadt) Mr Henning Schaffner (GSI Darmstadt) Ivan Kojouharov (GSI Darmstadt) Jnaneswari Gellanki (Lund University) Dr Juergen Gerl (GSI Darmstadt) K. Moschner (Universität zu Köln) Liliana Cortes (GSI Darmstadt) M. Bowry (University of Surrey) M. Lettmann (Technische Universitaet Darmtstadt) Dr Magda Gorska (GSI Darmstadt) Mr Matthias Hackstein (Universität zu Köln) Mr Michael Reese (TU Darmtstadt) Prof. Mike Bentley (University of York) Ms Namita Goel (GSI Darmstadt) Dr Nikolaus Kurz (GSI Darmstadt) Prof. Norbert Pietralla (TU Darmtstadt) Dr Oliver Wieland (INFN Milano) Dr Olivier Stezowski (IPN Lyon) P. Thoele (Universität zu Köln) Prof. Patrick Regan (University of Surrey) Dr Pavel Boutachkov (GSI Darmstadt) Dr Pavel Golubev (Lund University) Prof. Peter Reiter (Universität zu Köln) Dr Pushpendra P. Singh (GSI Darmstadt) R. Stegmann (TU Darmtstadt) R. Wood (University of Surrey) S. Kumar (University of Delhi) S. Mandal (Inter University Accelerator Centre, Delhi) Dr Stephane Pietri (GSI Darmstadt) T. Arici (GSI Darmstadt) Th. Moeller (TU Darmtstadt) Mr Tobias Habermann (GSI Darmstadt) Tom Alexander (University of Surrey) Dr Wolfram Korten (CEA Saclay) Z. Patel (University of Surrey) Dr Zsolt Podolyak (University of Surrey)

Presentation materials