SIGRAV International School 2024 - Measuring Gravity

Lloyd's Baia Hotel (Vietri sul mare)

Lloyd's Baia Hotel

Vietri sul mare

via Benedetto Croce 84121 Salerno SA Tel.: +39 89 763 3111

The 2024 edition of the Italian Society for General Relativity and Gravitational Physics (SIGRAV) International School is dedicated to a comprehensive exploration of precision measurements in gravitational research. This school aims to provide a thorough overview of recent experiments and cutting-edge detection techniques across various gravitational measurement domains ranging from atoms up to the cosmos. 

Participants can anticipate insights into:

Advanced Detector Technologies: Insights into technological advancements driving gravitational experiments at all scales.

Data Analysis Techniques: Description of the sophisticated methods nowadays used in data analysis for the aforementioned gravitational measurements.

Astrophysical Connections: Examining how gravitational measurements contribute to understanding astrophysical phenomena and vice versa, from black hole mergers to pulsars.

The school is designed to stimulate interactive discussions and collaborations, cultivating an environment where participants can actively engage with experts in the field. Regardless of their specific gravitational interests — whether experimental, phenomenological, or theoretical — we aspire for students to garner valuable insights across diverse precision measurement domains. SIGRAV objective is to equip them with a comprehensive understanding of the current frontiers in gravitational experiments and so providing a robust foundation to advance their research in gravity.

The School organizes the following lectures:

Gravitation in the lab (4h) - Stephan Schlamminger (National Institute of Standards and Technology,  Gaithesburg, USA)

Gravity at the atomic scale (4h) - Guglielmo Tino (University of Florence, I)

Earth based GW Experiments (4h) - Frédérique Marion (Laboratoire d'Annecy de Physique des Particules, Annecy, F)

Event Horizon Telescope (4h) - Huib Jan van Langevelde (Joint Institute for VLBI ERIC, Dwingeloo, NL)

Measuring gravity with Pulsars (3h) - Marta Burgay (Astronomic Observatory of Cagliari, I)

GRAVITY: stars orbiting the Galactic Black Hole (2h) - Stefan Gillessen (Max Planck Institute for extraterrestrial Physics, Garching, D)

Measuring gravity with satellites (2h) - Anna Maria Nobili (University of Pisa, I)

Space based GW Experiments (2h) - Gudrun Wanner (Leibniz Universität Hannover, D)


  • The School is intended for PhD students and young post-docs. In order to receive the certificate of participation, all lectures and seminars should be attended.
  • The Participation Fee (200 €) guarantee the access to all courses and activities, including lunch and coffee breaks. 
  • A reduced participation fee (25 €) is available for those which will be only able to attend the lectures remotely.
  • The room should be booked in the Lloyd's Baia Hotel. Please, reserve your room by using the form available in the section "Practical Info - Accomodation and Transport ".
  • The deadline for registration and payment of the relative fee is 11 February 2024 (see Registration section).
  • Alessandro Martini
  • Alessandro Moia
  • Alicia Calafat
  • Amresh Verma
  • Andrea Spina
  • Anna Chiara Alfano
  • Ansh Chopra
  • Christian D. Mancini
  • Emiliano Maria Glaviano
  • Fabio Aratore
  • Federico Armato
  • Francesca Attadio
  • Francesco Di Filippo
  • Francesco Venturelli
  • Frédérique Marion
  • Gabriele Demasi
  • Gaetano Luciano
  • Giulia Ventagli
  • Guglielmo M. Tino
  • Hugo Lévy
  • Izumi Takimoto Schmiegelow
  • Joan-René Mérou
  • Lorenzo Piccari
  • Luca Buoninfante
  • Luisa Pecoraro
  • Martina Di Cesare
  • Massimo Bassan
  • Matteo Pili
  • Matteo Schulz
  • Maxime Vincent
  • Michela Silvestrini
  • Micol Benetti
  • Mirko Pitzalis
  • Nicolò Burzillà
  • Niklas Houba
  • Paolo Rota
  • Pedro Passos
  • Philipp Euringer
  • Preity Sukla Sahani
  • riccardo felicetti
  • Riccardo Guida
  • Salvatore Capozziello
  • Salvatore Rea
  • Sandhya Sajith Menon
  • Sara Rufrano Aliberti
  • Sarah Ferraiuolo
  • Serena Gambino
  • Shengyi Liu
  • Silvia Cotza
  • Snigdha Bhattacharjee
  • Solange Nunes
  • Stavros Venikoudis
  • Stefano Liberati
  • Tiago Fernandes
  • Wajid Ali
  • Wasif Shaqil
  • Yevhen Lunin
  • Yuxin Liu
  • Zinovia Oikonomopoulou
  • Zunaira Akhtar
  • Ángel Garrón
  • +17