Sep 15 – 21, 2019
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

E-310 Trojan Horse-II at FACET-II and the STFC PWFA-FEL programme

Sep 19, 2019, 7:00 PM
SML (Hotel Hermitage)


Hotel Hermitage

talk WG1 - Electron beams from plasmas WG1 - Hybrid staging and future PWFA experiments


Bernhard Hidding (Scottish Universities Physics Alliance, Department of Physics, University of Strathclyde; Cockcroft Institute, Sci-Tech Daresbury)


The beam-driven plasma photocathode wakefield acceleration concept [1] allows decoupled laser injection of electron bunches with emittance and brightness reach many orders of magnitude better than state-of-the-art [2]. After successful proof-of-concept demonstration at SLAC FACET in the “E-210: Trojan Horse” project [3], we now embark on the next experimental phase around the “E-310: Trojan-II” flagship and five related experiments at FACET-II, where better incoming beams and improved setup may unleash the full potential of the scheme. Plans for FACET-II experiments and complementary progress and plans on hybrid LWFA->PWFA with automatically synchronized plasma photocathodes will be presented. Looking further ahead, the UK STFC has initiated the UK-US “PWFA-FEL” programme, which aims to push exploitation of the ultralow emittance and ultrahigh brightness of beams which may be obtainable from upcoming installations of plasma photocathodes. This project will explore the benefits of ultrahigh brightness beams and will also be used to assist experimental programmes on PWFA and plasma photocathodes at Daresbury’s CLARA facility and at FACET-II, and at future hybrid LWFA->PWFA systems.
[1] PRL 108, 035001 (2012)
[2] Nat. Comm. 8,15705 (2017)
[3] Generation and acceleration of electron bunches from a plasma photocathode, Nat. Phys., accepted (2019)

Primary authors

James Rosenzweig (UCLA) Mark Hogan (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Oliver Karger (University of Hamburg, Institute for Experimental Physics) T. Heinemann (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY; Scottish Universities Physics Alliance, Department of Physics, University of Strathclyde) Ahmad Fahim Habib (SUPA, Department of Physics, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK and Cockcroft Institute, Sci-Tech, Daresbury, UK.) Vitaly Yakimenko (SLAC) Michael Litos (University of Colorado Boulder) John Cary (Tech-X Corporation) Jim Clarke (STFC) Andrew Sutherland (University of Strathclyde) Prof. Tor O. Raubenheimer (Stanford University ) Erik Hemsing (SLAC) Paul Scherkl (University of Strathclyde) Daniel Ullmann (University of Strathclyde) Andrew Beaton (University of Strathclyde) Alastair Nutter (University of Strathclyde) Lewis Boulton (University Of Strathclyde / DESY) Dr Peter Williams (STFC Daresbury Lab.) Deepa Angal-Kalinin (STFC, Daresbury Laboratory) Dr Brian McNeil ( University of Strathclyd & Cockcroft Institute) Gerard Andonian (UCLA) Dr Grace Gloria Manahan (University of Strathclyde) Alexander Knetsch (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Brendan O'Shea (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) David Bruhwiler Bernhard Hidding (Scottish Universities Physics Alliance, Department of Physics, University of Strathclyde; Cockcroft Institute, Sci-Tech Daresbury)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.