Sep 15 – 21, 2019
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

Excitation of beam driven plasma waves in a hybrid L|PWFA

Sep 16, 2019, 6:00 PM
SML (Hotel Hermitage)


Hotel Hermitage


Susanne Schoebel (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)


Recent progress in laser wakefield acceleration (LWFA) has demonstrated the generation of high peak current electron beams with improved shot to shot stability [1]. Using high-current electron beams from a LWFA as drivers of a beam-driven plasma wakefield accelerator (PWFA) has been proposed as a beam energy and brightness transformer [2], aiming to fulfill the demanding quality requirements for applications such as FELs. It has been demonstrated experimentalythat electron beams from LWFA can actually drive plasma wakefields by themselves [3]. In order to further study the generation of plasma waves in the PWFA stage a sub-10 fs probe pulse was deployed and installed at HZDR. We observed beam driven plasma waves at different plasma densities, showing the capability of the LWFA beam to drive plasma wakefields in the self-ionizing regime. Furthermore we observed a correlation between the driver beam charge and the shape of the plasma wave. This enables us to find an optimum parameter set towards the experimental demonstration of the hybrid LPWFA.

Primary author

Susanne Schoebel (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)


Thomas Kurz (HZDR) Lena Kononenko (Ecole Polytechnique) Mr Stefan Bock (HZDR) Yen-Yu Chang (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) Sébastien Corde (Ecole Polytechnique) Jurjen Couperus Cabadağ (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) Alexander Debus (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Hao Ding (LMU München) Andreas Döpp (LMU Munich) Max Gilljohann (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München) Thomas Heinemann (Uni Strathclyde / DESY) Bernhard Hidding (University of Strathclyde / Hamburg) Stefan Karsch (LMU Munich) Alexander Köhler (HZDR) Richard Pausch (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf) Omid Zarini (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf e.V.) Ulrich Schramm (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Alberto Martinez de la Ossa (DESY) Arie Irman (Helmholtz Zentrum Dresden Rossendorf)

Presentation materials