Jul 22 – 26, 2019
Europe/Rome timezone

Design and Current Status of the Telescope Deployment of the Superspec Millimeter-wave Spectrometer

Jul 26, 2019, 3:00 PM
Auditorium G. Testori (Milano)

Auditorium G. Testori


Piazza Città di Lombardia, 1, 20124 Milano MI
Oral Presentation Low Temperature Detector Applications Orals LM 004


Joseph Redford (California Institute of Technology)


Superspec is an on-chip spectrometer for millimeter and sub-millimeter spectroscopy, with large instantaneous bandwidth (190 - 310 GHz) and moderate resolution (R ∼ 300). By using an on-chip filterbank composed of microstrip resonant filters, instead of dispersive optics, and superconducting Kinetic Inductance Detectors (KIDs), Superspec is able to implement a spectrometer on less than 20 cm${}^2$ of a silicon die, orders of magnitude smaller than a comparable grating spectrometer. Thus, Supserspec paves the way for multi-object spectroscopy and integrated-field-unit spectrometer instruments. Superspec is being deployed at the Large Millimeter Telescope (LMT) on the Sierra Negra mountain this year, demonstrating a 3-pixel, dual polarization spectrometer, with background limited sensitivity expected. With the Supespec band, this will allow for the observation of spectral lines in galaxies of redshifts z = 0 - 9, including the CO rotational ladder and the C[II] fine structure line, among others. We present the design of the spectrometer configuration for deployment at the LMT, along with the status and characterization of the instrument hardware.

Student (Ph.D., M.Sc. or B.Sc.) Y
Less than 5 years of experience since completion of Ph.D Y

Primary author

Joseph Redford (California Institute of Technology)


Erik Shirokoff (University of Chicago) Henry G. Leduc (Jet Propulsion Laboratory) Jason Glenn (University of Colorado - Boulder) Jonas Zmuidzinas (California Institute of Technology) Jordan Wheeler (University of Colorado - Boulder) Kirit Karkare (University of Chicago) Dr Matt Bradford (Jet Propulsion Laboratory) Pete Barry (Cardiff University) Phillip Mauskopf (Arizona State University) Reinier Janssen (Jet Propulsion Laboratory) Ryan McGeehan (University of Chicago) Scott Chapman (Dalhousie University) Steven Hailey-Dunsheath (California Institute of Technology)

Presentation materials