Jul 22 – 26, 2019
Europe/Rome timezone

Commercially fabricated antenna-coupled Transition Edge Sensor bolometer detectors for next generation Cosmic Microwave Background polarimetry experiment

Jul 22, 2019, 3:55 PM
Auditorium G. Testori (Milano)

Auditorium G. Testori


Piazza Città di Lombardia, 1, 20124 Milano MI
Oral Presentation Technology transfer, outreach, and dissemination Orals LM 006


Dr Aritoki Suzuki (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)


We report on the development of commercially fabricated multi-chroic antenna coupled Transition Edge Sensor (TES) bolometer arrays for Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB) polarimetry experiments. The orders of magnitude increase in detector count for next generation CMB experiments require a new approach in detector wafer production to increase fabrication throughput.

We describe collaborative efforts with a commercial superconductor electronics fabrication facility (SeeQC-HYPRES, Inc.) to fabricate antenna coupled TES bolometer detectors. We have successfully fabricated an operational dual-polarization, dichroic sinuous antenna-coupled TES detector array on a 150 mm diameter wafers. The fabricated detector array has yields of over 96% and excellent uniformity across the wafer. We have also demonstrated stable detector performance over 4 months. Both RF characteristics and TES bolometer properties are suitable for CMB observations. We successfully fabricated different types of TES bolometers optimized for frequency-multiplexing readout, time-domain multiplexing readout, and microwave SQUID multiplexing readout. We discuss the motivation, design considerations, fabrication processes, test results, and how industrial detector fabrication could be a path to fabricate hundreds of detector wafers for future CMB polarimetry experiments.

Student (Ph.D., M.Sc. or B.Sc.) N
Less than 5 years of experience since completion of Ph.D N

Primary author

Dr Aritoki Suzuki (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)


Mr Nicholas Cothard (Cornell University) Prof. Adrian T. Lee (University of California, Berkeley) Prof. Mike Niemack (Cornell University) Dr Christopher Raum (University of California, Berkeley) Dr Mario Renzullo (SeeQC-HYPRES, Inc.) Mr Trevor Sasse (University of California, Berkeley) Mr Jason Stevens (Cornell University) Dr Patrick Truitt (SeeQC-HYPRES, Inc.) Ms Eve Vavagiakis (Cornell University) Dr John Vivalda (SeeQC-HYPRES, Inc.) Dr Benjamin Westbrook (University of California, Berkeley) Dr Daniel Yohannes (SeeQC-HYPRES, Inc.)

Presentation materials