Sep 24 – 30, 2017
La Biodola, Isola d'Elba
Europe/Rome timezone

Proof-of-principle experiment for a sub-femtosecond electron bunch length diagnostic

Sep 25, 2017, 4:40 PM
SB1, Sala Bonaparte 1, HH

SB1, Sala Bonaparte 1, HH

talk WG5 - High-Gradient Plasma Structures/Advanced Beam Diagnostics WG5_Parallel


Ms Maria Katharina Weikum (DESY / University of Strathclyde)


With electron beam durations down to femtoseconds and sub-femtoseconds achievable in current state-of-the-art accelerators, longitudinal bunch length diagnostics with resolution at the attosecond level are required. In this paper, we present such a novel measurement device which combines a high power laser modulator with an RF deflecting cavity in the orthogonal direction. While the laser applies a strong correlated angular modulation to a beam, the RF deflector ensures the full resolution of this streaking effect across the bunch hence recovering the temporal beam profile with sub-femtosecond resolution. A first proof-of-principle experiment of this concept was conducted at the Accelerator Test Facility (ATF) at Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL) recently, the results of which are presented and discussed here. Moreover, a possible application of the technique for novel accelerator schemes, such as plasma-accelerated electron beams, is examined based on simulations with the particle-tracking code ELEGANT and our beam profile reconstruction tool. Effects limiting the device resolution, in particular the bunch energy spread and initial divergence, are considered in detail in this context.

Primary author

Ms Maria Katharina Weikum (DESY / University of Strathclyde)


Dr Andrey Ovodenko (RadiaBeam Technologies) Dr Christina Swinson (Brookhaven National Laboratory) Dr Finn O'Shea (RadiaBeam Technologies) Dr Gerard Andonian (UCLA) Mark Harrison (RadiaBeam Technologies) Dr Mikhail Fedurin (Brookhaven National Laboratory Accelerator Test Facility) Dr Mikhail Polyanskiy (Brookhaven National Laboratory) Mr Nicholas Sudar (University of California, Los Angeles Department of Physics and Astronomy) Dr Ralph Assmann (DESY) Prof. Zheng-Ming Sheng (University of Strathclyde)

Presentation materials