February 2015

1st Bulletin

Modern photolithographic technology on flexible and standard PCB supports has allowed for the invention and development of novel and very robust Micro-Pattern Gaseous Detectors (MPGD): such as GEM, Micromegas, THGEM and others. This technology offers the potential to develop detectors with very high spatial resolution, rate capability, large sensitive area, high operational stability, radiation hardness and good time resolution. The design of MPDGs has evolved to a point that makes them suitable for industrial production. The transfer these technologies to applications beyond HEP such as medical imaging, homeland security, beam monitors and neutron detection is nowadays fully realistic.

The first edition of this bi-annual International Conference series took place in 2009, with the aim of addressing the growing interest in the field. The fourth Conference will take place in Trieste, Italy on October 12-15, 2015 at the **Stazione Marittima Congress Centre**, situated in the centre of Trieste. A review of the current status of the different MPGD technologies will be given, recent R&D achievements, ideas for future developments and prospects for industrial production will be discussed. The Conference will be followed by the RD51 Collaboration meeting on October 16-17 at the same venue. More details will be given in the next Bulletin and in the conference web site, currently under development (http://mpgd2015.ts.infn.it/)

Important dates

16/2/2015	first bulletin
24/4/2015	opening of the registration and abstract submission
14/6/2015	abstract submission dead-line
20/7/2015	feedback to abstract submitters
31/7/2015	DEAD LINE for early registration and hotel preferential rates

International Organizing Committee

Alessandro Cardini (INFN, Cagliari), Klaus Desch (Bonn University), Theodoros Geralis (NCSR Demokritos, Athens), Ioanis Giomataris (CEA, Saclay), Tatsuo Kawamoto (ICEPP, Tokyo), Atsuhiko Ochi (Kobe University), Venetis Polychronakos (BNL), Leszek Ropelewski (CERN), Archana Sharma (CERN), Maxim Titov (CEA, Saclay), Andy White (University of Texas, Arlington), Joerg Wotschack (CERN)

Scientific Advisory Committee

Ties Behnke (DESY), Ronaldo Bellazzini (INFN, Pisa), Giovanni Bencivenni (INFN, LNF), Amos Breskin (Weizmann Institute), Paul Colas (CEA, Saclay), Georgios Fanourakis (NCSR Demokritos, Athens), Silvia Dalla Torre (INFN, Trieste), Klaus Dehmelt (Stonybrook University), Harry van der Graaf (NIKHEF), Junji Haba (KEK), John Jaros (SLAC), Takeshi Matsuda (KEK), Eraldo Oliveri (CERN), Werner Riegler (CERN), Fabio Sauli (TERA Foundation), Toru Tanimori (Kyoto University)

Local Organizing Committee

Giovanni Bencivenni (INFN, LNF), Gabriella Catanesi (INFN, Bari), Silvia Dalla Torre (INFN, Trieste), Benigno Gobbo (INFN, Trieste), Stefano Levorato (INFN, Trieste), Fulvio Tessarotto (INFN, Trieste)

Secretariat

Erica Novacco (INFN, Trieste)

Contact

mpgd2015@ts.infn.it