ATTENZIONE: Lunedì 15 Luglio, dalle 13:00 alle 15:00 sarà effettuato un intervento di manutenzione su Durante tale fascia oraria il servizio potrà risultare non raggiungibile.

ATTENTION: On Monday 15 July, from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm, maintenance will be carried out on During this time slot, the service may be unreachable.

Sep 13 – 19, 2015
La Biodola, Isola d'Elba
Europe/Rome timezone

Beam-driven plasma acceleration of electrons and positrons at FACET

Sep 15, 2015, 3:00 PM
SML Sala Maria Luisa (Hotel Hermitage)

SML Sala Maria Luisa

Hotel Hermitage

talk WG1 - Electron beams from plasmas WG1 - Electron beams from plasmas


Prof. Sébastien Corde (Ecole Polytechnique)


Beam-driven plasma accelerators, with their high electric fields and energy efficiencies, are being considered as a mean to make future electron-positron colliders more compact and affordable. The field of beam-driven plasma acceleration has recently seen a rapid experimental progress, in particular with the last few years of running of the FACET facility at SLAC. I will present some of the key results recently obtained at FACET. First, the acceleration of a distinct trailing bunch of electrons, at high fields and with high energy efficiency, was demonstrated. We have also shown that a short electron bunch is capable of generating very high fields in a beam-ionized high-ionization-potential gas, leading to energy gains of nearly 30 GeV in a ~25 cm acceleration distance. The problematic of the acceleration of the electron antimatter counterpart, the positron, was studied. A new regime where energy is efficiently transferred from the front to the rear within a single positron bunch was discovered. The self-loading of the wake leads to the formation of a narrow energy spread bunch of positrons. Finally, experimental results on hollow plasma channels, which are also considered for positron acceleration, will be presented.

Primary author

Prof. Sébastien Corde (Ecole Polytechnique)


Dr Brendan O'Shea (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Mr Carl Lindstrom (University of Oslo) Prof. Chandrashekhar Joshi (UCLA) Dr Chris Clayton (UCLA) Dr Christine Clarke (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Dr Dieter Walz (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Dr Erik Adli (University of Oslo, Norway) Mr James Allen (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Dr Jean-Pierre DELAHAYE (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Mr Joel Frederico (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Dr Ken Marsh (UCLA) Mark Hogan (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Dr Michael Litos (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Mr Navid Vafaei-Najafabadi (UCLA) Prof. Patric Muggli (Max-Planck-Institut für Physik) Dr Selina Green (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Mr Spencer Gessner (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Dr Vitaly Yakimenko (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Prof. Warren Mori (UCLA) Prof. Wei Lu (Tsinghua University) Dr Weiming An (UCLA)

Presentation materials