DeSyT-2025 (International workshop on Detection Systems and Techniques for fundamental and applied physics)

Contribution ID: 12

Type: not specified

## Picosecond resolution time resolved photoelectron emission detection system

Wednesday, 26 February 2025 15:00 (20 minutes)

The lifetime of hot carriers in materials following photoexcitation is a critical factor influencing their potential for various applications, including solar energy conversion, surface chemistry, optoelectronic devices, etc. We have developed a time-resolved photoelectron emission detection system to experimentally study hot carriers in diverse materials. This system employs an advanced Radio Frequency Timing (RFT) technique, where RF-synchronized ~258 nm photons are directed at the sample target. The emitted photoelectrons are accelerated to ~2.5 kV, scanned using a dedicated circular scanning deflector operating at 500–1000 MHz, and subsequently focused and detected by a position-sensitive detector composed of dual chevron microchannel plates and a delay-line anode. By converting the time of arrival of incident electrons. Experimental results for gold and graphene are presented: no delayed electrons were observed from gold, whereas graphene exhibited delayed electrons clearly detectable up to the nanosecond range. Current efforts focus on achieving sub-10-picosecond resolution.

**Primary authors:** Dr MARGARYAN, Amur (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Ms SAFARYAN, Anna (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr GHALUMYAN, Arsen (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Ms ROSTOMYAN, Hasmik (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr ELBAKYAN, Hayk (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr ABRAHAMYAN, Sergey (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr ZHAMKOCHYAN, Simon (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr ZHAMKOCHYAN, Simon (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr KAKOYAN, Vanik (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr KAKOYAN, Vanik (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr KAKOYAN, Vanik (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr KAKOYAN, Vanik (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr KAKOYAN, Vanik (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr KAKOYAN, Vanik (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr KAKOYAN, Vanik (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr KAKOYAN, Vanik (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia)

**Co-authors:** Prof. APRAHAMIAN, Ani (Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN 46556, USA); Mr KAKOYAN, Aram (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr BALABANSKI, Dimiter (Extreme Light Infrastructure- Nuclear Physics (ELI-NP), Bucharest-Magurele, Romania); Dr YVON, Dominique (Département de Physique des Particules Centre de Saclay I 91191 Gif-sur-Yvette Cedex France); Mr SUGHYAN, Gagik (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia); Dr ANNAND, John (School of Physics & Astronomy, University of Glasgow, G12 8QQ Scotland, UK); Dr LIVINGSTON, Kenneth (School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame); Dr ACHENBACH, Patrick (Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility, Newport News VA 23606, USA); Dr JOSEF, Pochodzalla (Institut für Kernphysik, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, Mainz, Germany); Dr MONTGOMERY, Rachel (School of Physics & Astronomy, University of Glasgow, G12 8QQ Scotland, UK); Prof. NAKAMURA, Satoshi N. (Department of Physics, Graduate School of Science, the University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan); Dr VIATCHESLAV, Sharyy (Département de Physique des Particules Centre de Saclay I 91191 Gif-sur-Yvette Cedex France)

**Presenter:** Dr ZHAMKOCHYAN, Simon (A.I. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory (Yerevan Physics Institute), Yerevan, Armenia)

Session Classification: Day 3 - Session 3