



TTORE MAJORANA FOUNDATION AND

CULTURE

TRE FOR SCIENTIF

Arrival in 27 of July and Departure 2 of August

Novel acceleration schemes and enabling technologies;

Muon Collider, Plasma acceleration,

ERL and dielectrics

The schools will start with a recap of the basic principle of particle accelerators and will review the limit of the present technologies on which are based existing or near-future accelerators. The saturation in gaining energy of the last two decades clearly show the necessity of pursuing novel acceleration schemes and new technologies enabling to go beyond the present limits of accelerators. The topic of this course is to examine some of the more promising schemes: rather than focusing on single type of accelerator the school will discuss basic concepts and layout for acceleration of muons and of plasma-based accelerators. Other schemes, like acceleration based on dielectrics and Energy Recirculating Linacs (ERL) will be also presented and discussed.

Applications should be submitted via the website

https://agenda.infn.it/event/35286/

Fee: 1000 Euro (it includes full board)

You will need to be prepared to upload your short CV. Response will be sent via e-mail. The number of place is being limited. Acceptation will be done mainly according to first come-first served base. For questions not covered on the websites, please contact: Ms Tiina Benson – <u>Tiina.Benson@mi.infn.it</u>

Directors of the Course:

Professor Frank Tecker - CERN, Professor Lucio Rossi - University of Milan & INFN - LASA,

Professor Ralph Assmann - DESY & INFN-LNF

Speakers:

Antoine Chance - CEA-IRFU Christopher Rogers - STFC Claude Marchand - CEA-IRFU David Alesini - INFN-LNF Eduard Prat - PSI Enrica Chiadroni - Univ. La Sapienza Roma Frank Zimmermann - CERN Giuseppe Lerner - CERN Giuseppe Torrisi - INFN-LNS Laura Monaco - INFN Leo Gizzi - INO - CNR Luca Bottura - CERN Lucio Rossi - Univ. of Milan & INFN-Mi-LASA Mark Hogan - SLAC Michaela Arnold - Technical Univ. Darmstadt Oliver Bruning - CERN Pablo Cirrone - INFN-LNS Peter Hommelhoff - University of Erlangen Ralph Assmann - DESY & INFN-LNF Samuele Mariotto - Univ. of Milan – INFN- LASA Tatiana Pieloni - EPFL Viktor Malka - Weizmann Institut