ICHEP 2022



Contribution ID: 1145

Type: Parallel Talk

Recent results from the ECHo experiment

Thursday, 7 July 2022 18:30 (15 minutes)

The Electron Capture in ¹⁶³Ho experiment (ECHo) is a running experiment for the determination of the neutrino mass scale via the analysis of the end point region of the ¹⁶³Ho electron capture spectrum. In the first phase, called ECHo-1k, data was collected for several months with about 60 metallic magnetic calorimeter (MMC) pixels enclosing ¹⁶³Ho for an activity of about 1Bq per pixel.

The goal of this first phase is to reach a sensitivity on the effective electron neutrino mass below 20 eV/c^2 by the analysis of a 163 Ho spectrum with more than 10^8 events and to demonstrate the potential to upscale the ECHo technology to a substantially more sensitive experiment in a next phase. Results from the analysis of the acquired data will be presented with focus on data reduction efficiency and on the procedures to obtain the final high statistics spectrum. A preliminary analysis of the 163 Ho spectral shape will be described and the expected sensitivity on the effective electron neutrino mass, on the basis of the properties of the presented spectrum, will be discussed.

We will then present how the performance obtained by the detectors during ECHo-1k have led to the development of an optimized detector system for the second phase, ECHo-100k. In ECHo-100k about 12000 MMC pixels each hosting ¹⁶³Ho for an activity of 10 Bq will be simultaneously operated. A sensitivity on the effective electron neutrino mass at the 1 eV/ c^2 level will be reached with three years of data acquisition.

This research was performed in the framework of the Research Unit FOR2202 "Neutrino Mass Determination by Electron Capture in 163Ho, ECHo", funded through the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG). F. Mantegazzini and A. Barth acknowledge support by the Research Training Group HighRR (GRK 2058) funded through DFG.

In-person participation

Yes

Primary authors: GÖGGELLMANN, Alexander (Institute of Physics, Eberhard Karls University Tübingen, Tübingen, Germany); FLEISCHMANN, Andreas (Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany); BARTH, Arnulf (Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany); AHRENS, Felix (Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany); GASTALDO, Loredana (Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany); GÖGGELMANN, Alexander; REIFEN-BERGER, Andreas (Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany); MARSH, Bruce (CERN, Physics Department, Geneva, Switzerland); ENSS, Christian (Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany); DÜLLMANN, Christoph E. (Department of Chemistry - TRIGA Site, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Mainz, Germany); SCHWEIGER, Christoph (Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics, Heidelberg, Germany); HENGSTLER, Daniel (Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany); MANTEGAZZINI, Federica (Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany); DORRER, Holger (Department of Chemistry - TRIGA Site, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Mainz, Germany); JOCHUM, Josef (Institute of Physics, Eberhard Karls University Tübingen, Tübingen, Germany); JOHN-STON, Karl (CERN, Physics Department, Geneva, Switzerland); KROMER, Kathrin (Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics, Heidelberg, Germany); BLAUM, Klaus (Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik); WENDT, Klaus (Institute of Physics, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Mainz, Germany); WEBER, Marc (Institute for Data Processing and Electronics, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany); GRIEDEL, Markus (Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany); BRASS, Martin (Institute for Theoretical

Physics, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany); NEIDIG, Martin (Institute of Micro- and Nanoelectronic Systems, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany); WEGNER, Matthias (Institute of Micro- and Nanoelectronic Systems, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany); HAVERKORT, Maurits (Institute for Theoretical Physics, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany); DOOR, Menno (Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics, Heidelberg, Germany); KOVAC, Neven (Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany); KARCHER, Nick (Institute for Data Processing and Electronics, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany); KNEIP, Nina (Institute of Physics, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Mainz, Germany); SANDER, Oliver (Institute for Data Processing and Electronics, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany); FILIANIN, Pavel (Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics, Heidelberg, Germany); BERNDT, Sebastian (Department of Chemistry - TRIGA Site, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Mainz, Germany); KEMPF, Sebastian (Institute of Micro- and Nanoelectronic Systems, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany); ROTHE, Sebastian (CERN, Physics Department, Geneva, Switzerland); ELISEEV, Sergey (Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics, Heidelberg, Germany); STORA, Thierry (CERN, Physics Department, Geneva, Switzerland); KIECK, Tom (Institute of Physics, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Mainz, Germany); KÖSTER, Ulli (Institut Laue-Langevin, Grenoble, France); NOVIKOV, Yuri N. (Petersburg Nuclear Physics Institute, Gatchina, Russia)

Presenter: GASTALDO, Loredana (Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany)

Session Classification: Neutrino Physics

Track Classification: Neutrino Physics