Sep 18 – 24, 2022
Hotel Hermitage, La Biodola Bay, Isola d'Elba, Italy
Europe/Rome timezone

Mechanisms to control laser-plasma coupling in laser wakefield electron acceleration

Sep 19, 2022, 7:15 PM
Sala Elena - Hotel Hermitage

Sala Elena - Hotel Hermitage

Poster (student) Poster Session


Lewis Dickson


A laser wakefield experiment was performed at the Lund Laser Centre with the support of ARIES Transnational Access programme. In the context of the EuPRAXIA project it aimed to explore possible control mechanisms over laser-plasma coupling and the resulting trapping and acceleration dynamics of the produced electron bunches. Three main experimental parameters which have a large impact on the accelerated electrons properties were varied: the density downramp before plasma exit, the focal position of the laser within the plasma and the laser energy distribution through focus. Experimental results are in good agreement with particle-in-cell simulation results using realistic laser energy, phase distribution, and temporal envelope, allowing for accurate predictions of difficult to model parameters, such as total charge and spatial properties of the electron bunches, opening the way for more accurate modelling for the design of plasma-based accelerators.

Primary authors

Lewis Dickson Dr Chirstopher Underwood (Department of Physics, York Plasma Institute, University of York, York, UK ) Francesco Filippi (ENEA) Rob Shalloo (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY)) Jonas Björklund Svensson (DESY) Diego Guenot (Laboratoire d'Optique Appliquée) kristoffer svendsen (Lund university) Ioaquin Moulanier (Laboratoire de Physique des Gaz et Plamas) sandrine Dobosz Dufrénoy (CEA-Saclay) Christopher Murphy (University of York) Dr Nelson Lopes () GoLP/Instituto de Plasmas e Fusao Nuclear, Instituto Superior Tecnico, Universidade de Lisboa, Lisboa, Portugal) Prof. Pattathil Rajeev (Central Laser Facility, STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Didcot, UK) Zulfikar Najmudin (Imperial College London) Giada Cantono (Lund University) Dr Anders Persson (Department of Physics, Lund University, Sweden, (6) Université Paris-Saclay, CEA, CNRS, LIDYL, Gif-sur-Yvette, France) Olle Lundh (Lund University) Gilles Maynard (Laboratoire de Physique des Gaz et des Plasmas; CNRS-University Paris-Sud) Matthew Streeter (Imperial College London) Brigitte CROS (LPGP-CNRS-UP11)

Presentation materials