XVII Seminar on Software for Nuclear, Subnuclear and Applied Physics

Hotel Porto Conte

Hotel Porto Conte

Via Porto Conte, 79, 07041 Maristella SS, Italy
Dear Participants, due to the outbreak of Covid-19 worldwide, with all connected risks and travel restrictions, the 2020 Edition of the school is CANCELLED.




This event is organized by INFN, University of Sassari and by the SNAKE (Sharing Software Knowledge) non-profit organisation. The Seminar offers lectures to Ph.D. students, medical physicists and young researchers working at Universities or Research Institutes.

The Seminar is organized in didactic units on software developed and used in fundamental and applied physics.

The lectures also include a full official basic course on the Geant4 Monte Carlo simulation toolkitLectures will cover all aspects of the toolkit from basic installation through advanced topics and will be interspersed with examples that build a progressively more complex application, extensible to real space and medical use.
On the last day of the School, students will have the opportunity to test their learning achievements through a written exam. The successful outcome of the test will be reported on a written certificate for those interested, to be requested on arrival, at the registration desk. A simple attendance certificate will also be available on request.

This year the school will host a cycle of seminars on particle detectors, a course on machine learning fundamentals and application in physics and a course on Python programming language.

Staying at Hotel Porto Conte is mandatory for all the participants.

A limited number of grants are available that will cover the fees and/or the accommodation. No support for travel expenses is available. The deadline for application is March 5th.

Ph.D. students and young researchers can apply submitting a curriculum vitae, an abstract on their research activity and register to the Indico page. Applications by participants not registered to the Indico page will be discharged. Grant winners will present their research activity in a dedicated session.

Registration will be opened on January 18th, a maximum number of 45 participants will be admitted.
  • Andrea Ciarma
  • Anhelina Tanckak
  • Daniele Pistone
  • Davide Bianco
  • Domenico D'Urso
  • Elisa Maria Gandolfo
  • Evgenii Lutsenko
  • Fabio Iacob
  • Felix Eduardo Pino Andrades
  • Fraser Baird
  • Giovanni Della Casa
  • Giuseppe Dilillo
  • Laura Sinkunaite
  • Marek Walczak
  • Mariaelena D'Errico
  • Matteo Sorbara
  • Mattia Soldani
  • Maurizio Ungaro
  • Michelangelo Pari
  • Nicola Fratianni
  • Shikha Mishra
The agenda of this meeting is empty